• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Homemade Salsa

DSC_1877

David and I eat Mexican food at least twice a week.  We never get tired of it!  We don’t go out to eat very often because I’d rather cook at home, but I do really love eating chips and salsa at Mexican restaurants.   We’ve already been frying our own chips using corn tortillas, but I haven’t tried homemade salsa until now.  I’m not sure what the delay was, because it’s not hard, and I’m all about cooking and baking from scratch.  I found a recipe that I thought we would like, and when David’s grandparents gave us some tomatoes from their garden, I knew what I had to do!

I can’t believe I didn’t try this sooner.  Besides being incredibly easy to make, this salsa tastes fabulous and it so much better than any store bought salsa I’ve had and the salsa I’ve had in restaurants.  It was probably about a medium on the spicy scale.  We like spicy salsa, but if you want to tone it down, you can either omit the seeds from the jalapeno or just not add as much jalapeno.  The original recipe called for cilantro, but I’m not a big fan of cilantro, so I just left it out.  If you like salsa, definitely try this.  It’s so easy- after some simple prepping of ingredients, you just whirl it all in a blender, and you’ve got some tasty salsa!

Homemade Salsa
Source: adapted from Serious Eats

1 pound fresh tomatoes (or one 28-ounce can diced tomatoes if you don’t have fresh)

2 jalapeno peppers
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 cup diced onion
2 tablespoons of chili powder
Salt to taste
A dash of sugar
Juice from 1/2 lime

Put all ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust spices if needed.

12 Responses

  1. mmmm…mexican!
    i can assure you we’ll be consuming insane amounts of salsa in a couple weeks.
    can’t wait!

    • I’m looking forward to it! We’ll have to have a Mexican night, complete with some big ol’ margaritas!

  2. I L-O-V-E Mexican, too. I’ve never tried making my own salsa, but now I’m inspired and will try it this week. Tell me this, though – how do you make your own chips? You said you fry corn tortillas, so do you just buy corn tortillas and fry them? That simple? Or do you make the corn tortillas yourself?

  3. I make salsa homeade all the time. I have a recipe on my site you might want to try..it’s super easy. I love to try new versions and that led me to your site!. I HAVE to have cilantro in my salsa…I’m going to try this version but add that in! Sounds wonderful!

  4. I know what my next project should be. I love Mexican food too, and it’s always better at home, isn’t it?

  5. This looks so good! I’ve been making a ton of roasted salsa lately — I need to try this next!

  6. Looks great! I can’t keep chips and salsa around the house, because they are my weakness!

  7. I really love Mexican too, and I’ve never made my own salsa! This recipe sounds yummy because it doesn’t use cilantro, which I’m not a huge fan of. I’ll have to try it! Thanks!

  8. You rock, Erin.

  9. I am a salsa junkie! Whenever I am at a party and they serve some salsa…you can bet thats where I will be! Can’t wait to try out this recipe!

  10. Oh, this looks super addicting! We’re huge salsa fans too🙂

  11. […] HOMEMADE SALSA (Recipe inspired by a whole slew of recipes – especially this one at Dinner & Dessert and this one over at Annie’s […]

Leave a Reply

