• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream

DSC_1834

I love raspberries, but I hate that they are so expensive.  I saw them at Cosco recently for a good price, so I picked some up.  I made cupcakes with half, but was left with trying to decide what to do with the rest of them.  I didn’t have enough for sorbet, but I have been wanting to try this Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream, so I went with that.  I love the combination of raspberries and chocolate, and couldn’t wait to taste this ice cream.  I’ve never had the combination blended together the way before.  It’s always been desserts such as raspberries on top of a piece of cake, where they complement each other, but aren’t totally mixed.  I loved the flavor of this ice cream.  It was such a nice contrast with the sweetness of the chocolate and the tanginess of the raspberries.  It’s not a commonly seen ice cream combination, but one that you should definitely try :)  The recipe says that straining the raspberries is an optional step, but I would definitely do it.  It’s kind of a pain, but it’s worth it to not have to worry about raspberry seeds in your ice cream!

I’m also submitting this to the Ice Cream Social, hosted by Scotty Snacks, Savor the Thyme, and Tangled Noodle.  This is perfect since July is National Ice Cream Month!

Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

1 ½ cups heavy cream

5 tablespoons unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

2/3 cup sugar

2 cups raspberries, fresh or frozen

Whisk together the cream, cocoa powder, and sugar in a large saucepan.  Heat the mixture, whisking frequently, until it comes to a full, rolling boil (it will start to foam up).  Remove from the heat and add the raspberries.  Cover and let stand for 10 minutes.

Puree the mixture in a food processor or blender.  If you wish, press the mixture through a mesh strainer to remove the seeds.

Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

13 Responses

  1. My eyes widened when I read the title of your post (and saw the tantalizing photo of the ice cream) – the combination of raspberries and chocolate is SOOO rich and delightful!

  2. Oh my does this look rich and heavenly!

  3. Mmm, looks good! I love how it just looks like chocolate ice cream and then you the surprise of yummy raspberries too!

  4. Yet another one to add to my list!

  5. Oh, yum, definitely one of my favorite flavor combinations. You’re right, you don’t usually see the chocolate and the raspberries fully blended together.

  6. That looks so dark chocolaty–must be the Dutch-process. Yum to the choc/raspberry flavor combo!

  7. Awesome combination! That looks so incredibly good.

    And I like whatever that is that the bowl is sitting on – so cute.

  8. Yeah, I wish they were not so expensive either. I love chocolate and raspberry together. One of my favorite flavor combos. I wish I had an ice cream maker! Very nice dessert.

  9. Erin, I ordered the book and hopefully it will get here by Tuesday so I can make some of this delicious ice cream!

    Yours looks to-die-for!😉

  10. Mmm this is definitely one of the first on my list for my new ice cream maker!

  11. Ooh, yum! I absolutely love chocolate and raspberries together. I’m going to have to try this one, soon!

  12. Hi there,
    I am so sorry that you were having trouble submitting your entry into the ice cream social. Please try using this address:
    IceCream-at-ScottySnacks.com

  13. I’ve read some excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you set to create one of these fantastic informative web site.

Leave a Reply

