• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Wilton Course 3, Classes 1 & 2

DSC_1809

Since I’m a teacher and I’m off for the summer, I wanted to take the Wilton classes while I had so much time.  After finishing Course 1, you can go on and take any of the other classes, so I’m taking Courses 2 and 3 this month.  I was particularly excited about Course 3 because I’ve wanted to learn how to work with fondant for quite some time.  During the first class, we practiced the ruffle and bead borders as well as other decorative techniques.  It was a pretty short class, and at the end we talked a little bit about fondant and what to expect from the next class.  We were told to bring in a square cake.  I let David choose which type of cake to make, and he picked carrot cake, which is one of his favorites.  Our instructor told us to coat the cake with a thin layer of frosting to make it easier to cover with fondant.

There are four of us in the class, which is the perfect number, because we have enough individual attention, but are still able to learn from one another.  I decided on hot pink for my bow.  I thought coloring fondant would be a big pain, but it was actually incredibly easy.  Once you knead the fondant enough to make it pliable, you just make a well in the center, add the food coloring, and then you keep stretching it until the color is evenly distributed.  This took much less time than I thought.  We started off by cutting out the pieces to make our bows, and then we put them aside while we rolled out the fondant to cover the cake.  I brought a heavy rolling pin, which was very useful because the fondant must be very thin. Once we placed the fondant over the cake, we placed the bows on top and covered it with other decorations.  The best part about the flowers is that if you have any mistakes, they can easily be fixed and no one will be the wiser :)  I love working with fondant.  It’s a great way to decorate a cake, and it’s fun to work with as well.  It’s almost like Play-Dough, and you can roll it and cut it into any shape you want.  I was pretty happy with how this came out, especially for my first fondant cake.  I used store-bought fondant this time, but next time I am going to make homemade fondant.  I can’t wait to get more practice and make more intricate designs!

DSC_1810

DSC_1811 A close up of the cut-out flower

DSC_1812 I love the curly ribbons

11 Responses

  1. It’s beautiful! What a fun color choice. (Clearly David didn’t get as much input there as he did with the flavor.) 🙂 I love those adorable flowers.

  2. Nice job, it looks great!

  3. Looks great! My course 3 starts tonight! I’ve worked with fondant in course 4, but I’m really excited about learning the fondant rose and tiering.🙂

  4. That is soooo cute!!!

  5. It looks awesome!! Great job! I’m sure there will be more to come!

  6. Great Job – It looks awesome!

  7. So cute! I love working with fondant. It’s like tasty Play-Doh. 😉

  8. How fun for you to enjoy on your summer off. Your cake turned out great!

  9. I loved the fondant class – it’s so much fun! I got hooked on making gum paste flowers – wait until you get to that part.

    I love the hot pink bow – so bright and vibrant!

  10. Nice job! I really want to take the Wilton classes too!

  11. Great cake – it looks lovely! I’ve been taking the Wilton courses and they’ve been a lot of fun!🙂

Leave a Reply

