• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate, Peanut Butter, & Oatmeal Cookies

DSC_1446

Let me start off by saying that these cookies are pure genuis.  We recently moved, and before we had everything unpacked, I found myself wanting something chocolate for a snack but didn’t have room to make a huge mess, and didn’t have my kitchen organized yet, so I needed something simple.  I enjoy baking cookies, but it can be time consuming to keep waiting on batches to cook (although sometimes this problem can be solved by baking a few at a time and freezing the rest of the dough).  These were perfect because you can have a delicious snack in less than 15 minutes, and they also contain my favorite dessert combination: chocolate and peanut butter.

DSC_1452

The ingredients and instructions in these are simple: butter, sugar, milk, and cocoa are boiled in a pot, then you remove the pot from the heat and add in the peanut butter, vanilla, and oats.  You then drop the cookies on wax paper and wait for them to set up, but you can also just eat it from the pot to make it even faster :)  Within a few minutes, they set up nicely, and I snacked on a few as I worked on unpacking.  Even David was drawn to these, and I didn’t think he would like them.  This is definitely a treat you want to have on hand for any emergency chocolate craving!

No Bake Chocolate, Peanut Butter, & Oatmeal Cookies
Source: Ezra Pound Cake

1/2 cup butter

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup milk

4 tablespoons cocoa

1/2 cup peanut butter

3 to 3 1/2 cups dry quick-cooking oats

2 teaspoons vanilla

Add the first four ingredients into a 4-quart saucepan.

Bring to a rolling boil and hold for 1 minute.

Remove from heat.

Stir in the next 3 ingredients and drop by tablespoons onto wax paper.

Let cool until set.

26 Responses

  1. I highly recommend freezing them, too! They are so good on a hot summer day.

  2. That is THE best combination for a cookie, hands down. BEYOND pure genius.

  3. I absolutely love these! We call them cow patties where I’m from. I can’t ever eat just one! Yours look delicious!

  4. My sister ALWAYS made those growing up. We called them Chocolate No-Bake Cookies, or just No-Bakes for short.

  5. I love these things! Your picture is making my mouth water.

  6. What a coincidence, I just made these cookies today! My mother-in-law’s recipe contains less peanut butter but I use 1/2 cup. They always turn out great!

  7. I have never made these with PB before -gonna make ’em for small group from church tonight!!!

  8. Oh wow, YUM! Looks easy and so delicious. I will have to try these.

  9. I used to make these ALL the time. They are super easy to make and wonderful to eat. I must make them again soon!

  10. Mmmm…no bake cookies are always so fudgy and good…and with the peanut butter I would probably have NO self-control!

  11. I’ve loved these all my life, but haven’t made them for quite a while. I just made a similar tasting cookie which was baked and the base was meringued egg whites, kind of like a macaroon, but they tasted like these no bakes I remember. I’ll have to post them.
    Yours look perfect.

  12. I can eat these until I’m sick. They can be tricky to make sometimes though. It’s really important to pay attention to the boiling time. Not enough or too little time over the heat and they won’t set right. Yours look perfect and just how my mother’s did when I was growing up.

  13. Mmm I know I’d love these! I’ll have to make them, and add some coconut. Yum!

  14. These are one of my favorite treats!

  15. These are a childhood favorite that were served at our school in the mid 60’s. My step dads sister was a cafeteria worker/cook there and gave me the recipe when I was just 8 yrs old. She called them “Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies”.

    Over the years I made thousands of them for school fundraisers, family, friends, Christmas, birthday parties,etc. These were our biggest seller at my daughters school and one of her most requested for baby showers now too!

    I live in the deep South where humidity is a factor when making them. It’s crucial to boil at least the 60 seconds mentioned, although I have always had to use the 90 second rule where I live. I found the easiest way for me was to just slowly count to 90 while stirring the mixture the entire time. Hope that helps with any “setting up issues” if they are a bit too gooey for anyone.

    If they are too hard,crumble easily,won’t stick together… then reduce the boil time by a few seconds until you determine what works best for your area.

  16. I love these! We make them at camp during the summer and call them “Cow Pies.” The kids love plopping them on the wax paper and eating all of the batter🙂

  17. MAN these look goooooooooooooood.

    Do you do delivery?😉

  18. Yummy is not enough! These delicious!! Amazing!! Great combination!

  19. We’re in the middle of moving. I had the urge for chocolate and remembered seeing your recipe! What a perfect moving recipe! I’ve heard these called PMS Wranglers, which is just about right… though men love them equally.🙂

  20. i call these “Fudgepackers” because i love “Cannibal: The Musical” and also because the cookbook called them “boiled cookies,” which sounds even grosser than fudgepackers. Anyway, they are, as it was previously stated, pure genius and it’s impossible to eat only one or not all of them. plus you dont need an oven which is great.

  21. my mouth water on the shape of this nice photos

  22. haha, my mom makes these. We call them PMS cookies🙂

  23. I am very impressed with your pictures of these. These are the most wonderful cookies, but let’s just face it, not the prettiest in the world. You have proven me wrong. Great JOB!

  24. […] (I had both sources saved in my google reader. They’re the same recipe) Dinner and Dessert and Brown Eyed […]

  25. These have been around forever and are fantastic!! We call them Tokay cookies in my house. You can not go wrong with these little gems.

  26. I have always loved these cookies too. When I recently found out that I was allergic to peanut butter, I made them with almond butter. They were delicious!

Leave a Reply

