• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Katherine Hepburn Brownies (TWD)

DSC_1754

This week we’re making another one of Dorie’s brownies.  These are a tribute to the late actress Katherine Hepburn, who loved them.  I love brownies and was excited about trying these.  This was a simple, straightforward brownie recipe.  One aspect of this recipe that stood out to me was that it contained cocoa powder and no actual chocolate, which is unusual for a brownie.  I used half regular cocoa and half Dutch-process because I ran out of regular cocoa.  This turned out to be a good thing, though, because it resulted in a rich, chocolaty brownie.

The brownies were nearly flourless, and very dense.  They weren’t as tall as most brownies I’ve had.  In fact, they were quite flat!  I think this is the result of so little flour (I used millet flour).  The coffee flavor was also quite strong, which I enjoyed, but if you don’t like coffee flavor in desserts, it may be too much.  Some TWD members reported having problems with theirs being too gooey, but mine were perfectly baked in 30 minutes.  I lined the pan with foil, which is my favorite method for baking brownies.  They come out nice and neat and it’s so easy to cut them.  These may have not been my favorite brownie ever, but they were still pretty darn tasty🙂

TWD has a new logo, designed by Lisa of Surviving Oz.  She had the honor of choosing this week’s recipe.  You can view the recipe on her blog, and visit the TWD blog to see what everyone else thought of this week’s choice!

11 Responses

  1. They look fantastic & fudgey!

  2. I really liked these this week. Yours look great. Mine have more chunks than yours. I used all dark cocoa powder so mine are super dark and they are so wonderful.

  3. Even a not-favorite brownie is still a good brownie, LOL.

    Nice picture! I have such a hard time taking good photos of chocolate desserts.

  4. I love how well you can see the chocolate chunks in your brownies – mine all kind of melted together. I’m glad you enjoyed them, they look delicious!

  5. Oh Katherine…your voice! Your brownies! Your movies! You’ve given us so much.🙂

  6. Wow, your brownies look terrific! I find brownies difficult to photograph, but your photo is great. These were a bit too gooey and fudgey for me but I’m glad you liked them🙂

  7. They look really delicious and your plate is really cute!

  8. Dark, Dense, Delicious. Yep!! That’s what these were.

    Great job.

  9. Hey, I always line the pan with foil, too! Have never had a sticking problem!
    I loved these. (Made them four times in the last week.)
    Yours certainly look dark, fudgy, dense and delicious!

  10. These look delicious, even if they are not your favorite brownie.

  11. I love all brownies, and Katherine Hepburn brownies are delish! I was wondering what your all time favorite brownie recipe is though? I like mine super fudgy and moist, so far the Baked brownies are my fav.

Leave a Reply

