• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Gravatt Squares (aka Chocolate-Peanut Butter Squares)

DSC_1417

David spent many summer weeks and weekends at Camp Gravatt, which is a camp and conference center for the Episcopal Diocese of Upper South Carolina.  After we started dating, I attended a few weekend events there and have visited for other random events.  One treat that Camp Gravatt is known for are these chocolate-peanut butter bars, which are known as Gravatt Squares.  They are alwasy served at lunch on the last day, and everyone looks forward to them and gets really excited when they are put out on the tables.  David’s parents often volunteer to help in the kitchen during weekend events, and my mother-in-law shared the recipe with me because she knows that I am crazy about them!

They are incredibly easy to make.  After mixing the peanut butter layer, you pour melted chocolate over it, place it in the refrigerator, and wait for it to set.  When you are ready to cut and serve these, I would recommend leaving them out at room temperature for about 30 minutes so they can soften and won’t be so difficult to cut.  I am so happy I can make these at home and not have to wait to visit Camp Gravatt to have one!

Gravatt Squares
Source: Camp Gravatt

1 stick butter, softened

¾ cups peanut butter (I always use creamy, but I think crunchy would be good too)

2 cups confectioners’ sugar

¾ cup chocolate chips

Mix butter, peanut butter, and confectioners’ sugar.  Melt chocolate chips and pour on top.  Refrigerate until set.

15 Responses

  1. Oh this is embarrassing – I am drooling on the keyboard.

  2. YUM! Those do look simple and delicious!

  3. I just love desserts like this – I’ll bet these are great!

  4. These look to-die-for. I would love a PIECE, please!😉

  5. Ooo these look simple and really good!

  6. I love the combination of peanut butter and chocolate, especially when combined in a recipe this easy! They look luscious.

  7. I’ve been seaching everywhere for this recipe! We had at these for dessert in middle school and I was seriously craving them while pregnant last summer. Quick question, though…what size pan did you use? 8×8?

  8. YUM!! are these like the PB dream bars at Mrs Field’s? i love those!!

  9. Wow, these look so rich and delicious!

  10. Those look amazing, and I love how it is a few simple ingredients.

  11. Holy man those look tasty and I can eat them because they’re naturally gluten free!🙂

  12. oh man… one of my favorite childhood memories is Gravatt Squares on the last night of camp each year🙂 Sitting in the dark with all of the “loot” your counselor took from the dining hall, eating in the dark with flashlights to the sound of crickets. Can’t wait to make these!

  13. Hey I go to camp gravatt and fell in love with these squares but do you know how to make them less sweet?

  14. All three of my children attended Camp Gravatt, and I have tasted their signature dessert. However, because I like cashews better than peanuts, I have made this recipe with cashew butter I ground myself in a processor. A nice variation IMHO.

Leave a Reply

