• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

A Tribute to the Perfect Party Cake

Carol of mix, mix…stir, stir chose Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake this week.  It truly is a perfect cake.  I first made it when it was chosen by the Daring Bakers in March 2008.  It was the perfect choice for an Easter dessert.  It was a huge hit, and it was devoured quickly, and several people went back for a second piece.  David talked about that cake for several days and over the next few months, he would talk about it and how he wanted me to make it again.  Over the summer, when we went to the beach with his extended family, I made two cakes, and the Perfect Party Cake was one of them.  It was a big hit then too.

I made it for a third time in October, and paired it with raspberry buttercream.  I love Dorie’s buttercream frosting recipe, but this was a great pairing as well.   Finally, last week, when I was looking for a cake to make for my decorating class, I made the Perfect Party Cake again. It’s the perfect cake for any occasion. I rarely make the same dessert more than once, but the fact that I’ve made this cake four times in a little over a year should tell you something!  I’ve never met anyone who didn’t like this cake.  I’ve made it four times, and I know I’ll keep making it again and again!

12 Responses

  1. That really DOES sound like the perfect cake – lovely!

  2. I have to make this one soon. I was sad to miss it. Im glad you like this cake!

  3. Wow, you must really like the cake to have made it four times🙂 I have to agree – it’s pretty delicious!

  4. Great cake if you keep making it.

  5. Wow, you really must love this recipe because you made it three times! That is awesome!

    I ended up making cupcakes instead and the cake itself was delicious! I will also make again!🙂

  6. wow, you’ve made this one quite a bit!! it’s a great cake isn’t it?🙂

  7. I’ve heard of this cake, now I have to try it!

  8. I am so impressed by your cakes and I love your enthusiasm. I like the cake as well. It is so summery good.

  9. Yes – I’ll agree that you must have liked this cake a lot in order to have made it so often!

  10. Ooo, this would be great with raspberry buttercream! Great idea!

  11. Seriously, you’ve made it four times? I haven’t even done it once. I’m such a slacker. Good for you!

  12. You are a pro at this one! I am so glad you are such a fan of the recipe I picked. Thanks for baking with me this week.

Leave a Reply

