• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pineapple Sorbet

DSC_1504

The best part about food during the summer is the abundance of fresh fruit.  I try to eat as much of it as I can during the months it is in season.  One of my favorite fruits is pineapple.  The canned variety just isn’t as good as fresh, and I’ve found that it’s worth it to get a fresh pineapple, even if cutting it can be a bit messy and kind of a pain to do.  I knew that once pineapples started appearing in grocery stores, I wanted to make this sorbet.

Sorbets are so simple, and they are really the perfect summer treat.  This was my first time cutting a pineapple by myself.  It wasn’t that difficult, but it did get pretty messy!  If you want to see a visual of how to do it, this video is very useful.  I loved this sorbet and the way the sweet pineapple flavor came through.  It also had a really smooth texture, just right for sorbet.  I will definitely make this again, and I’m looking forward to trying even more fresh fruit sorbets this summer.

Pineapple Sorbet
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

½ pineapple, peeled and cored

8 to 10 tablespoons sugar

½ cup water

Cut the pineapple into chunks and puree in a blender with 8 tablespoons sugar and the water until smooth.  Taste, then add up to 2 tablespoon additional sugar, if desired.

Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

6 Responses

  1. One of my favorite kinds of sorbets. So light and fresh!

  2. Perfect! I have a 1/2 a pineapple in the fridge right now. I can’t wait to try this. I was just watching a Good Eats episode last night with sorbet and wanted to make some.

  3. I’m not really into sorbet, but I love pineapples. I bet i’d love this!😀

  4. I don’t have an ice cream maker, but I have pineapple!

  5. This looks fantastic and pineapple is one of my fave flavors. Usually I add vodka in sorbet recipe to help it set so it’s nice that this recipe doesn’t require it!

  6. I agree about one of the best parts of summer being the abundance of fresh fruit! I try to eat as much as possible too. I know my boyfriend would love this sorbet as pineapple is one of his favourites! I hate cutting them though because I don’t want to waste any fruit so I cut off as little of the outside as possible then I have to pick out all the “eyes”.

Leave a Reply

