• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise (TWD)

DSC_1460

I am a visual person, and I love when a picture in a cookbook captures my attention.  This Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise definitely did just that, although I waited longer than I usually would to make it!  Once the summer rolled around, I had a good feeling this would be chosen.  I love pineapple, and it seems like other fresh fruits are features more often in summer desserts.  This dessert features pineapple, and combines it with coconut and white chocolate whipped cream sandwiched between layers of meringue.  When you put all those elements together, you have a spectacular summer dessert.

This wasn’t difficult to make, but did require some advance planning.  The meringue bakes for 3 hours (I wish I had read carefully before starting to bake at 9:30 PM!) and the white chocolate whipped cream needs a good chilling period.  Once assembled, the dessert needs at least 4 hours in the refrigerator.  I made the cream and the meringues in one night, assembled it early the next afternoon, and let it chill until after dinner.  It was a pretty messy dessert and it doesn’t keep well, so that is something to keep in mind as well.  I think my favorite part of this dessert is the white chocolate whipped cream.  I am already thinking of some other desserts it would go with- I think it would be great as a filling for cupcakes or to go between cake layers.  This dessert was definitely worth the wait!  You can visit Andrea’s blog for the recipe, and the TWD blog to see everyone else’s pineapple creations.

16 Responses

  1. Oh good Im glad you liked it. It looks really good. I think your going to have fun trying new things with this recipe!

  2. Lovely photo! So glad you enjoyed.

  3. I love how you put bigger pieces of pineapple on top.

  4. That looks great, Erin! I love the pineapple on top.

  5. What a wonderful combination, crunchy daquoise and pineapples, love it

  6. Ohhhhhh, the three-hour baking time! It almost got me, too. Can you believe we waited so long to try this one?

  7. Oh yum, this is nice summery dessert. All I want now is to dig in. Yum!

  8. this looks good!

  9. Your dacquoise turned out soo well! I love the size of the pineapples and the toasted coconut looks terrific!

  10. I love those flavors together… especially perfectly toasted coconut! It looks fantastic.

  11. Looks fabulous! I was happy I actually read the recipe ahead of time so I didn’t start it at night. I agree that the white chocolate ganache was delicious!

  12. Yours looks picture perfect! I really enjoyed this as well, despite the time it took. I sadly left mine on the counter and had to throw away what was left, but at least we enjoyed most of it.

  13. This was a photo that caught my eye in the cookbook too! I should really make it but have been scared to since it looked kind of complicated. Good to know that it’s not too difficult though. =) Yours looks delicious!

  14. Great photo! I love the way you cut your pineapples! The white chocolate ganache was my favorite part too – I had to hide the leftover so I wouldn’t eat it out of the bowl with a spoon🙂

  15. Looks beautiful

  16. this picture in the book caught my attention too! i still have to make it soon!

    great job

Leave a Reply

