• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Oatmeal Raisin Ice Cream

DSC_1535

This ice cream intrigued me when I first looked through The Perfect Scoop. I’ve never had anything like it before, but the combination sounded delicious.  This was a custard-based ice cream, but it included the additional steps of cooking raisins and making the oatmeal praline.  The ice cream custard base had a lot of cinnamon flavor, just like an oatmeal raisin cookie.  I loved the combination of the brown sugar and cinnamon and how they came together to add depth to the ice cream.  The oatmeal praline was very good.  It was really hard after I finished cooking it, and I wondered how it would change when added to the ice cream.  Lebovitz says that after the oatmeal praline sits in the ice cream, it becomes the perfect mix-in texture, and he was right.  This was like an oatmeal raisin cookie in ice cream form!  It was so creamy and full of flavor.  It was probably the most involved ice cream I’ve made, but it was so worth it!  I ended up enjoying this unique flavor, and it is something I will make again.

Oatmeal Raisin Ice Cream
Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

Raisins:

¼ cup water

2 tablespoons sugar

½ cup raisins

2 teaspoons whiskey (I used rum)

Ice Cream:

1 cup whole milk

½ cup granulated sugar

Pinch of salt

2 cups heavy cream

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

5 large egg yolks

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Oatmeal Praline, recipe follows

To prepare the raisins, heat the water and sugar in a small saucepan.  Add the raisins and cook over low heat, stirring frequently, until all but about 2 tablespoons of the syrup has been absorbed, about 5 minutes.  Remove from the heat and add the whiskey.

To make the ice cream, warm the milk, granulated sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan.  Whisk the cream, brown sugar, and cinnamon together into a large bowl and set a mesh strainer on top.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.  Mix in the vanilla and stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  During the last few minutes of churning, add the raisins and Oatmeal Praline.

Oatmeal Praline:

¾ cup rolled oats (not instant)

½ cup sugar

Pinch of coarse salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Line a baking sheet with foil, spread the oats evenly on the sheet, and bake for 10 minutes, stirring once or twice while baking, until the oats are fragrant and nicely toasted.  Remove from the oven.

Spread the sugar in a medium, heavy-bottomed skillet and cook over medium heat, watching it carefully.  When it begins to liquefy and darken at the edges, use a heatproof spatula to stir it very gently, encouraging the heat of the liquefied sugar around the edges to moisten and melt the sugar crystals in the center.

Tilt the pan and stir gently until all the sugar is melted and the caramel begins to smoke.  Once the mixture is deep golden, remove it from the heat and immediately add the oats to the skillet (lift the foil to guide them in quickly).  Return the foil to the baking sheet.

Stir the oats gently but quickly, coating them with the caramel.  Scrape the oats onto the foil-lined baking sheet and spread them as well as possible.  Sprinkle with the salt and let cool completely.  Once firm, break the praline oats into small pieces by pulsing them in a food processor or placing the pieces in a heavy-duty plastic bag and smacking them with a mallet or rolling pin.

17 Responses

  1. I used to love making homemade ice cream sandwiches with oatmeal-raisin cookies… that ice cream does all the hard work for me!!😀 Looks marvelous.

  2. Yum this got my attention..looks and sounds so yummy. I can allmost taste it between two oatmeal cookies!

  3. It does sound intriguing, and delicious too!

  4. I actually have the oatmeal praline ready to go – I just have to make the base next!

    So glad to hear that the praline softens – I was concerned because it is rock-hard right now!

  5. There are very few ice cream recipes I see that make me wish I had an ice cream maker, but this is one of them🙂

  6. This looks SO delicious! Oatmeal raisin in my favorite kind of cookie. I’m hoping to get an ice cream maker and Perfect Scoop for my birthday so I will definitely be trying this.

  7. Oatmeal praline!! Yum. David Lebovitz’s ice cream recipes are making me want to get an ice cream maker more and more!

  8. Oops, sorry, I was logged into my hubby’s account above, please delete Apolinaras’ comment – thanks!

    I can see why this recipe stood out, it looks so good, especially the addition of the oatmeal praline – yum!

  9. YUM! I have been searching for a recipe like this. My favorite B&J flavor is very similar but with chocolate chips instead of raisins and I would love to recreate it at home. I think I may give this recipe a try- thanks for sharing!

  10. This looks really delicious! I am so curious though after seeing all of your yummy stuff–what in the world do you do with all of it??

    • I bake a lot for my church group or when we have friends over. I finish off the ice cream though. I run every day to make up for it though!

  11. Wow – what a great ice cream flavor!!

  12. Oooh, I have had this in the back of my mind since I got The Perfect Scoop. Thanks for posting it, I’m glad to hear it was a winner. You know, I made more ice cream in the winter than I am now in the summer – something is wrong with me!

  13. I have that book and have been wanting to give this one a try! I can’t wait now after your review. It has my mouth watering!

  14. Mmm, that sounds delicious! I never would have thought to try it, either. Thanks for sharing!

  15. Ok, I have this cookbook but obviously haven’t gotten it out in much too long, because I don’t remember seeing this. I NEED to make this now!

  16. Oh man that looks good!!

    I nominated you for a blog award in my blog.🙂

Leave a Reply

