• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pound Cake

DSC_1379

A good pound cake recipe is a very useful thing for a baker to have.  Pound cakes are great when you don’t want a heavier dessert like a layer cake.  You can have them plain, you can change the taste by adding different flavorings, and you can dress it up by adding a glaze, a sauce, or some fruit.  I do like making layer cakes, cheesecakes, and other complex desserts, but there are times when I need to keep it simple.  Pound cake is great when you need to make a dessert but don’t have a lot of time to invest in the process.

I have made this recipe many times before, but not since I’ve had this blog, and I thought it was time to share the recipe.  I got it from my mother-in-law, who got it from a friend (I don’t know what the original source is).  It is my brother-in-law’s favorite cake, and she often makes it when he visits.  The best part of this pound cake is eating the crust off the top after it comes out of the oven.  It’s hard to beat that warm, crusty exterior!  This is the best pound cake I’ve had.  It is incredibly moist and flavorful.  It’s great on it’s own or with fruit, especially strawberries.  My favorite way to make it is with almond flavoring, although I’ve used orange extract with success as well.  One other tip is to make sure your butter is very soft.  I leave it out for several hours before I’m ready to bake (if I plan that far ahead!).  If you are still looking for a great pound cake recipe, you should give this a try!

Pound Cake
Source: My mother-in-law

2 sticks butter, softened

½ cup shortening (you can substitute butter if you want)

3 cups sugar

3 cups all-purpose flour

5 eggs

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract (or any flavoring of choice)

¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking powder

Cream butter, shortening, and sugar until very light.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add vanilla and almond extracts.  Add flour alternately with milk.  Bake in lightly greased pan in 325 degree oven for 1 hour and 20 minutes.  Place dish towel over cake, turn oven off, and clet cake stand 10 more minutes in oven.  Remove from oven, take towel off, allow to cool, and turn on to a cake plate.

Chocolate Pound Cake: Add 4 tablespoons cocoa to flour and sift together.  Omit almond extract.  Bake at 300 for 2 hours.

15 Responses

  1. You gotta love all that butter and eggs! The first pound cake I ever tasted was back east at my husbands moms friends house…it had rum in it and was so good put I swear it made me tipsy!

  2. Pound cake may not be as photogenic as a layer cake with lots of frosting, but I agree they are a greatly underestimated cake! YUM!

  3. Pound cake has become my nemesis. I haven’t been able to find a recipe that’s consistently good. Can’t wait to try this one!

  4. I love pound cake. When I want to be really decadent I will put a little peanut butter on my slice🙂

  5. pound cake again, nice… so many great food around here🙂

    eat, eat, eat, again🙂

    thanks info!


    wie
    Tire Catalog

  6. yummmm pound cake is SO good. looks great!

  7. Oddly I’ve only had the Sara Lee pound cake – which I think is why pound cake never really appeals to me. But this inspires me to make my own! It looks amazing.

  8. You’re right – pound cake is one of those underappreciated cakes – but it’s one of my husbands favorites – provided I do a marble swirl with it. So I’m definitely going to give this a try. Mother-in-laws always have such great recipes!

  9. This looks fabulous. I LOVE pound cake but I’ve honestly never made it myself, so I may have to give this version a try. I love the idea of almond extract.

  10. I love pound cake, but can’t make it or I’ll eat the whole thing! Yours looks amazing!

  11. I am going to try this tonight – always on the hunt for a perfect pound cake recipe. I have tried several and all have lacked that special “something”.

    Thanks – I will blog about my results!

  12. […] to “Dinner and Desert” for this […]

  13. Cake was delicious! Picture on my blog!

  14. Looks like such a perfect pound cake. And the choc chip cheesecake cookie bars look alluring as well.

  15. I haven’t made my own poundcake in much too long. This sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

