• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Iced Oatmeal Applesauce Cookies

dsc_06061

I haven’t made oatmeal cookies in such a long time, but when I was flipping through Martha Stewart’s Cookies, I thought these sounded perfect.  I really like the combination of apples and oatmeal, so I thought these would be perfect.  These cookies were simple and didn’t take long at all to make, and don’t even require advance planning since the butter is melted and not softened.  The combination of flavors was excellent- oatmeal, apples, raisins, and even a maple glaze- how can you go wrong?  I think next time I would add cinnamon and/or nutmeg to make them even more flavorful.

These cookies were very moist and chewy, but very delicate.  The glaze really added a lot to these cookies, and they were chock full of flavors.  They would be great any time of year, but I think the ingredients remind me of winter, which is perfect since I made these while I was home when we got the day off of school because of snow.  This was definitely a great change from your regular oatmeal cookie!

Iced Oatmeal Applesauce Cookies

For the cookies:

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted

1 cup packed light brown sugar

½ cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

½ cup chunky-style applesauce

1 ½ cups old-fashioned rolled oats

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon coarse salt

1 cup golden raisins

For the icing:

1 ¾ cups confectioners’ sugar

3 tablespoons pure maple syrup

3 tablespoons water

1.    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Make cookies: Put butter and sugars in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  Mix on low speed until combined.  Add egg and applesauce; mix until well blended, 2 to 3 minutes.  Mix in oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Mix in raisins.

2.    Using a 1 ½-inch ice cream scoop, drop dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing 2 inches apart.  Bake cookies until golden and just set, 13 to 15 minutes, rotating halfway through.  Let cool on sheets 5 minutes.  Transfer cookies to a wire rack set over parchment paper; let cool completely.

3.    Make icing: Whisk confectioners’ sugar, maple syrup, and water until smooth.  Drizzle over cookies; let set.  Cookies can be stored in single layers in airtight containers at room temperature up to 3 days.

YIELD: about 2 ½ dozen

SOURCE: Martha Stewart’s Cookies

15 Responses

  1. I love plain oatmeal cookies, but these look even better!

  2. These do sound good! You are rocking the fall flavors lately. 🙂

    • I actually made both of these a couple months ago, but never got around to posting them. I just wanted to get them out of my drafts list, so I posted them. Hopefully my next posts will be more seasonal, because that’s how I try to plan!🙂

  3. OMG wow I am in LOVE!

    Oatmeal cookies are one of my favorite things ever.

    With applesauce and icing?! whoa! Hello new favorite cookie!

    Thanks for sharing, these look lovely.

  4. I love the applesauce in this recipe. Thanks!

  5. I just got Martha’s Cookie Book and love it! These are perfect, I love chewy cookies!

  6. These are SO up my alley. Definitely saving this one! Looks delicious.

  7. Those sound so delicious! I will definitely be giving them a try.

  8. YUM! That’s one from the book I’ve yet to try. I personally love oatmeal cookies, and always add extra oatmeal to them.

  9. These look great! I have that cookbook, so I’ll have to try out the recipe now that you’ve said they are so good.

  10. Oohh yum! I am definitely bookmarking these to make in the fall!

  11. Ooo these look homey and comforting and delicious!

  12. These look wonderful!

  13. Mmm, those sound really delicious! I’m definitely going to have to give them a try.

  14. These are my kind of cookie — homey and delicious! Love the idea of maple icing and can’t wait to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

