• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Apple Strudel (Daring Bakers)

DSC_1357

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

I was surprised to see that I had already made a version of this month’s chosen recipe.  I made Sherry Yard’s recipe for Apfelstrudel in February and was pleased with how it came out.  I was interested to see how this one compared.  I made this for my husband, who loves strudel, and I wanted to find out which one he liked better.

DSC_1355

The dough recipes were quite different.  Sherry’s recipe called for egg in the dough and just a little bit of oil, and more water than this month’s recipe.  Rick Rodgers relies more on oil and water and a little bit of vinegar to moisten the dough.  Sherry’s recipe called for a mix of all-purpose and bread flour, while Rodgers’s recipe uses just all-purpose flour.  The filling recipes were quite similar, although I did like the addition of rum in Rodgers’s recipe.  I thought it added a lot of flavor.

I thought this dough was easier to work with, although that may have just come from having worked with this type of dough before.  I followed Yard’s method of stretching out the dough, and was able to roll it out even thinner than I did last time.  Using her method, you stretch out the dough using your fists.  I like this method because it gives you more control over the dough and prevents too much tearing.  Strudel dough is very delicate, and I did make two very small tears, but they were easily fixed.  I didn’t have fresh breadcrumbs on hand, so I used graham crackers instead and it didn’t make a difference.

The result?  David liked this one better!  I could tell by his excitement when he tried it, and by how big a piece he took to work the next day :)  I was pleased with how thin I was able to stretch out the dough, and how flaky it was.  I love that strudel is not as complicated as one might think and that it’s something that I will make more often.  I would love to try making this with different fillings.  I think it would be great with raspberries and/or blueberries.  This was a great Daring Bakers month and I can’t wait to find out what June brings!

15 Responses

  1. How fun to see a comparison of this type of recipe. You’re the pastry master!

  2. That looks gorgeous! I was also pleasantly surprised that this dough was much easier to work with than I expected. I’ll have to check out that other filling recipe.

  3. Wow, it looks delicious! I wish mine had turned out so well!

  4. Amazing job! Two thumbs up!

  5. Wow that strudel is GORGEOUS! Fantastic job, it really looks AMAZING! I am so impressed!

  6. I looove apple strudel. There was a Wild Oats-turned WF in Boulder CO that had some truly amazing strudel.

    Yum, thanks for this post, I had forgotten how this is one of the best things in life!!!😉

  7. Mmm your strudel looks delicious. I’d love a bite! Lucky husband.

  8. Very impressive – and you’ve inspired me to try this!

  9. Your strudel looks wonderful, it was nice that you could compare the two recipes and have a winner!

  10. Those look really really fabulous. makes me want to try this – soon!!!

  11. It’s like an unintentional side-by-side comparison – lucky you! It looks wonderful!

  12. I went back and read your first apple strudel post. How funny that you already had it picked out as your recipe if you were to host Daring Bakers! I liked the comparison and I think I agree with your husband – this one just seems to look better.

  13. So glad David loved this one! It certainly looks delicious. You’re really becoming the strudel expert, it seems. I can’t wait to try my hand at strudel-making. Sounds amazing!

  14. great job and thanks for the review comparing the two recipes

  15. […] look very pretty.  David enjoyed snacking on them, but said that they weren’t as good as the Apple Strudel I made in […]

Leave a Reply

