• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chipster-Topped Brownies (TWD)

DSC_1101

I have been eyeing these brownies since I first got Dorie’s book.  I am a major dough eater, and there is nothing better than dough from chocolate cookie dough.  I am also a huge fan of any kind of brownie.  And now you’re telling me that there’s a dessert where I can have both?  Count me in!

DSC_1116

I can’t believe I waited this long to make these brownies.  I have evjoyed almost all of the desserts I’ve made for TWD, but I have to say that Dorie knows how to make a brownie.  The Quintuple Chocolate Brownies and the French Chocolate Brownies have both been amazing, and these Chipster-Topped Brownies are no exception.  I’ve even made the Classic Chocolate and the Peanuttiest Blondies (not quite a brownie, but close enough :)), and they have been delicious as well.  The only tricky part about making these brownies was putting the cookie dough layer on top.  I dolloped the dough in many places over the brownies so that I would have less to spread out, and spread it with my knife carefully.  I didn’t have any problems with it, and had a nice cookie dough layer over the brownies.  They were done in just the amount of time called for, and I couldn’t wait to jump in and try one.  The cookie dough layer was more of a golden crust topping over the brownie, and it was nothing short of amazingly delicious.  The brownies were perfectly fudgy and had a great chocolate flavor.  I made them gluten free by using millet flour and a teaspon of xanthan gum.  You can view the recipe on Beth’s site and visit the TWD blog to see more delicious creations.

19 Responses

  1. Those look like they would go perfectly with the milk chocolate ice cream you have just below them! YUM!

  2. Wow these look awesome. Funny how you made them gluten-free and they came out perfect, and I made mine mostly normal, and they were a disaster…

    By the way, it’s hard to say for sure, but I think pound cake batter might be even better the chocolate chip cookie dough. It’s close though.

  3. Yours are the best looking version I’ve seen of these brownies yet! Great work!

  4. wow, amazing. I think my hub and I ate ccd as a meal spread out this weekend!!! can’t wait to try these brownies… yum.

  5. They look awesome. Happy to see that they worked out for some people.

  6. Oh yeah – these were great, and I can’t believe you hadn’t made them before now!

  7. The batter from both of these was out. of. this. world.

    I just couldn’t get it to bake.

  8. Wow, your brownies look perfect! I think you’re the first TWDer I’ve come across who didn’t have to bake it longer than stated in the recipe!

  9. Your brownies look delicious! Glad you enjoyed.

  10. Yum!! I love these when I made them too.

  11. Those are just absolutely gorgeous! And yes, choc chip cookie dough is probably the best thing ever🙂

  12. I have to try this I’m drooling here just thinking about making them!

  13. Yours look really great! My brownie layer looks thicker than yours, but maybe that’s just the photo. I was really excited about making these, and although my brownie part was a touch under baked, they are really good.

  14. These look delicious! I’m so glad you liked them!

  15. Mmm, those look good. I like the stripey background in the second photo.

  16. Those look sooooo perfect. Fantastic!!!

  17. Wow, yours came out so good! I’m jealous of your distinct layers. My cookie dough sank into the brownie batter.

  18. Nothing short of amazingly delicious?! Well, then, I think that means I must try these. They look absolutely delicious. So glad you finally got to make this recipe!

  19. wow, yours look picture perfect!

Leave a Reply

