• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Milk Chocolate Ice Cream

DSC_1045

I had an intense craving for Butterfinger candy, but didn’t want to just eat them straight.  I thought about this Milk Chocolate Ice cream, and decided this was the perfect use for Butterfingers.  Sometimes chocolate lovers tend to stay away from milk chocolate, but I am an equal-opportunity chocolate eater.  I eat it all- milk chocolate, semisweet chocolate, all the way up to the most intense dark chocolates.  Milk chocolate has the perfect amount of sweetness that I was looking for when I made this.  The chopped butterfingers were a great add-in and satisfied my candy craving.  This ice cream had a great texture.  It was nice and creamy, and I loved the chocolate flavor in it.  At the last minute, I decided to add some M&Ms into the ice cream, which made this a sugar-filled, candy-laden treat, but it was definitely worth it!  I am hoping that I’ll be able to find cocoa nibs soon and try this again using them.

Milk Chocolate Ice Cream

8 ounces milk chocolate with at least 30 percent cocoa solids, finely chopped

1 ½ cups heavy cream

1 ½ cups whole milk

¾ cup sugar

Big pinch of salt

4 large egg yolks

2 teaspoons Cognac

¾ cocoa nibs or semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips (optional)

Combine the milk chocolate and cream in a large, heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water.  Stir until the chocolate is melted, then remove the bowl from the saucepan.  Set is aside with a mesh strainer over the top.

Warm the milk, sugar, and salt in a medium saucepan.  In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks.  Slowly pour the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, then scrape the warmed egg yolks back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat with a heatproof spatula, scraping the bottom as your stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula.  Pour the custard through the strainer into the milk chocolate mixture, add the Cognac, and mix together.  Stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  During the last few minutes of churning, add the cocoa nibs, if using.

Source: The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz

8 Responses

  1. Perfect – I love Butterfingers! It looks great!

    And like you, I am an equal opportunity chocolate lover.

  2. I have to admit that I’m one of those anti-milk chocolate people. I think it can be done right, but usually it’s too sweet for me. I bet this ice cream was a good place for it though!

  3. Mmmm my boyfriend would LOVE this! He LOVES Butterfinger!

  4. I’m an equal opportunity chocolate lover as well. I love the addition of butterfingers to your ice cream – sounds so good!

  5. I got a new ice cream maker and can’t wait to start making ice cream, bookmarking this recipe to try!

  6. Mmm I’ve never had milk chocolate ice cream. Yours looks so delicious! And sounds especially tempting with the butterfinger and m&m’s add ins!

  7. I love all the ice creams that are starting to pop up on everyone’s blogs! I’m bookmarking this one–sounds delicious, and my girls would love the m&ms. =)

  8. I’m with you: I’m an equal opportunity chocolate employer. Milk chocolate works for me. This ice cream looks absolutely delicious, and I just love the butterfinger add-in. Superb!

Leave a Reply

