• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tiramisu Cake (TWD)

dsc_1080

It’s so funny that this recipe was chosen this week, because I just recently made Tiramisu last week for a friend Kyle’s birthday.  My close friends are all huge Tiramisu fans and request it all the time.  I thought about making this Tiramisu Cake for his birthday, but ended up going with plain old Tiramisu.  Luckily, I got my chance to make this cake very soon afterwards, so it was like a bonus cake🙂

This recipe had elements very similar to classic Tiramisu.  The cake was soaked in a coffee-flavored syrup, just like the ladyfingers.  The frosting was delicious and tasted much like the one in the classic dessert.  I loved the way Dorie made this into a cake.  It still had the elements of tiramisu, but was combined into this cake, perfect for a celebratory occasion.  Maybe for the next birthday I’ll make this cake again!  I was anxious to find out how my Tiramisu-loving friends would like this cake.  I was so happy to see that they really loved it, and even though we had a small crowd, this cake disappeared quickly.  You can view the recipe on Megan’s site, and view the other creations on the TWD blog.

dsc_1087

17 Responses

  1. Mmm delicious. I don’t always like the traditional way of making tiramisu because it’s too mushy but I loved this cake when I made it.

  2. Great job on your cake!

  3. I took my cupcakes to a cookout on Saturday and they vanished faster than I could blink. Yeah, I’m thinking that the tiramisu loving crowd took a liking to this recipe. I know I’ll have to make it again!🙂

  4. Your cake looks fantastic! I love the light dusting of cocoa powder on top. I tried to dust mine with cocoa powder but it doesn’t look anywhere near as pretty as yours🙂 Great job!

  5. Mmmm.. it’s beautiful. You did a great job. I think this might make a good Mother’s Day cake this weekend. I dont’ think mine will look so pretty, though. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Disappearing cake it always a sure sign that it was great! It looks perfect, as always – and I’m glad you liked it!

  7. It’s gorgeous!! You did a fabulous job!🙂

  8. Bonus! Your layers came out so nicely. I guess making tiramisu all the time pays off.😉

  9. Great job as always! That frosting looks SO fluffy & delicious!

  10. WOW! I wish you celebrated MY birthday with a cake like that…
    Very, very well done!

  11. Your cake looks great! This was my first time making tiramisu in any form and I was really pleased with how it turned out.

  12. This is such a pretty cake, and it was delicious too!

  13. I am jealous. You know how to make a real tiramisu and a cake version, too! Yours looks stunning!

  14. Yours looks absolutely gorgeous. I almost went with the proper dusting, but the guys talked me out of it and we did chips instead…I love the look of yours with the dusting on it. Very elegant.

  15. Your cake looks beautiful! So glad it was a hit with your friends!

  16. That cake looks delicious. Great job.

  17. Having something you make disappear so fast is always a wonderful thing, isn’t it? Yours looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

