• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chewy Chocolate-White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

dsc_0290

I love chocolate cookies, and I was in the mood to bake some.  I was looking at chocolate cookies I had bookmarked, and I remembered this one from Confections of a Foodie Bride.  She talked about how she was obsessed with a particular cookie from the food court, and I happen to agree that food court cookies can often be the best kind.  I also love the combination of chocolate and white chocolate.

dsc_0275

I brought these cookies to our February birthday celebration at school.  We try to do something once a month to celebrate that month’s birthdays.  I always vlunteer to bring a dessert, and we try to make things that can be picked up easily, such as cookies and brownies.  I thought these would be rich enough for a celebration!  These cookies were nice and chewy and full of chocolate flavor.  The white chocolate also provided a nice contrast.  I think these definitely go to the top of the list as far as chocolate cookies are concerned!

dsc_0277

Chewy Chocolate-White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

1 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup dutch-process cocoa*
1/2 cup butter, cubed and room temp
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup milk
1 1/2 cups chopped white chocolate

*Don’t substitute with natural cocoa. The Oreo-like flavor comes from the richer dutch-processed cocoa. I used Hershey Special Dark Dutch-Process but I’ve used their dutch/natural blend in this recipe in a pinch. It yields a lighter-colored and slightly less Oreo-like cookie.

Preheat oven to 325 and place oven racks in the upper and lower middle position.

Whisk together flour, salt, baking powder and cocoa, and set aside. Beat the butter on medium-high until light and add sugars, creaming well. Add the vanilla and beat until smooth. Add the flour mixture in 2 batches, alternately with the milk in one batch, mixing well. Chill dough for 15 minutes.

Scoop the dough onto a parchment- or silpat-lined cookie sheet (however you bake your cookies) and bake (see note below). Let the cookies cool completely on the cookie sheet and store in an air-tight container.

Here’s a tip from Shawnda:

Let’s talk about the size of of this cookie. I use a No 12 scoop to drop a well rounded scoop of chilled cookie dough (a little less than 1/2 cup of cookie dough) onto parchment-lined baking sheets and bake for 24 minutes. I get 8 or 9 cookies with a diameter of 6 inches using the No 12 scoop. Perfect if you’re going for the “real bakery” look, perhaps less-than-perfect if it’s just you and 8 of your new chocolatey friends over a weekend. If you scoop a more normal sized cookie, I’d estimate 12-16 minutes in the oven.

Source: Confections of a Foodie Bride


13 Responses

  1. YUM! That’s really similar to a cookie I love to make too! I love that “reverse” chocolate chip idea. Yours look delectably delicious!

  2. MMMMMMMMMMMM They look rich and delicious!

  3. Oh, they look SO good and would definitely not last long in our house – yum!

  4. Wow! Those look so delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I WILL be trying these out soon!

  5. Oh my another great recipe to add to my list of cookies I want to bake. They look so tasty!

  6. Those look fabulous. My favorite cookie is a chocolate base like that and the contrast of white chocolate looks lovely.

  7. I love how dark the dutch-processed cocoa makes these cookies. They look uber-chocolatey and delicious. And the contrast from the white chocolate is fabulous. Delish!

  8. Yum! So good. I like mixing up the traditional chocolate chip cookie, by flipping it into this one.

  9. Mmm I love chocolate cookies like this. Starbucks has a marble chocolate chunk cookie that I’m obsessed with right now. The dough is chocolatey and coffee and it has I think 3 kinds of chocolate in it mmm.

  10. These look really good – I love anything with white chocolate!

  11. those look so good it might be something to make this weekend

  12. LOVE choc-white choc chip cookies. I’ve been making them for years and actually have a friend who gives me hard time if I visit without these in a goodie bag. AND he hides some for later from everybody!

  13. Oh…My!! I made these yesterday for my husband to take to work….he ended up eating almost half of them last night! That’s saying something for a man who just “likes” chocolate and doesn’t “LOVE” it like me because these are the ultimate chocolate cookie!! So…I had to bake another batch today! Thanks so much

Leave a Reply

