• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

dsc_0886

I don’t have a lot of experience with bread pudding.  I’ve only had it a couple of times, and haven’t been totally crazy about  it, but liked it okay enough.  I think the problem was that I never really had good bread pudding.  I mean, I think the last time I remember having it was in the college dining hall…not exactly an example of fine culinary arts.  I made it once before, but it honestly was not that memorable.  I don’t even remember where I got the recipe, but it was before I really got into baking hardcore and knew what to look for in a recipe.  I was intrigued with this recipe.  I was excited to try making bread pudding again, and thought the chocolate would be an interesting twist.

I have been lucky enough to find a really great gluten-free flour mix for making pizza and French Bread.  It’s made by a company called Gluten Free Pantry, and it’s been nice to still be able to enjoy pizza at home every once in a while and to use it to make bread for desserts like this.  This recipe was easy enough to put together.  I really liked the way the bread soaked up the custard, but still left enough sauce for just the right amount of richness.  I added a little bit more chocolate to the custard than the recipe called for (I don’t know how much, but I just kept adding until I used up the package!).  It was perfectly chocolaty and made me realized just how good bread pudding can be.  I already have some ideas for other bread puddings I want to try!  You can visit Lauren’s blog for the recipe, and visit the TWD blog to see how everyone else liked this week’s pick.

14 Responses

  1. GLUTEN-FREE?!?!??!! Oooooh!!! Perfect🙂

  2. Yours looks wonderful. Good call on adding more chocolate, I think it needed it.

  3. So glad you were able to make it gluten free.

    Looks great.

  4. I didn’t know you were baking gluten-free. Have I been sleeping all this time??

    It looks super chocolatey and delicious, and I’m glad you tried one that wasn’t from a school dining hall.🙂

  5. Your pudding looks delicious! This was my first time trying bread pudding and I agree with you that it was a good one🙂

  6. Wow, a gluten free bread pudding? How marvelous!

  7. So cool that you can make it gluten free!!

  8. I agree – this recipe turned me back on to bread pudding. Yours looks wonderful, and everything’s better with more chocolate🙂

  9. I’m so glad that this recipe changed your mind about bread pudding! I’m a huge chocolate bread pudding fan. And you totally made me smile when you mentioned adding extra chocolate until you had used up the package…a woman of my own heart🙂

  10. your bread pudding looks great, glad that you enjoyed it!

  11. Glad you liked this recipe. Good bread puddings are hard make to make let alone find out. It is one my favorites. Yours looks yummy!

  12. glad you are now a bread pudding convert🙂

  13. Oh my, this looks really dangerous. So good! Perfectly creamy…it’s making me drool. Seriously.

  14. Wow great job! I really enjoyed this, especially warmed up with chocolate syrup or cream anglaise!

Leave a Reply

