• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Amaretti Torte

dsc_1025

This post is going to be short and sweet because I’m already running short on time, as you can see since I am posting this much later in the day than I normally do.  The picture is also quite craptasic, as I also did that in a rush.  I did so much baking last week for Easter and other various events going on, and I was very glad to see a quick and easy recipe chosen.  I got my amaretti cookies from The Fresh Market, but I think next time I want to try this again and make my own.  This cake came together just like Dorie promised- it’s hard not to complain about a cake that comes together in 15 minutes using the food processor!  My only complaint is that my cake domed in the middle quite a bit.  I thought I could fix it by just cutting it off like you do with regular cakes, but part of the cake actually rose up, so doing so created a hole in the middle of the cake.  Thank goodness for the ganache topping!  I was able to just cut this up in smaller pieces so no one could see the ugly state of my cake.  But, even if it did not turn out all that pretty, it was a great cake!  You can view the recipe on Holly’s blog, and visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s cakes!

7 Responses

  1. Hang in there with the busyness!!

    Love your cake!!

  2. Glad you enjoyed it! It was pretty quick and easy to make though not sure I’d make it again because it was a bit too rich for me.

  3. Never mind the “craptastic” picture (I love that word). We weren’t crazy about it but it was quick to make.

  4. glad you got it done in the knick of time! mine domed a little bit in the middle but then evened out after it cooled

  5. You can never go wrong with chocolate! Take care. Hope you can get some R&R soon.

  6. Short and sweet post for a short and sweet cake! Serendipity!

  7. What I know is that this cake looks uber-chocolatey, and I love uber-chocolate. Sounds soo delicious!

Leave a Reply

