• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Banana Cream Pie

dsc_0868

I’ve never made a banana cream pie before, so I was excited to try this.  I grew up eating banana pudding all the time, so I was pretty sure I would like this.  This week was even easier because I already had one of Dorie’s pie crusts on hand from the last time we made a pie for TWD.  It might come in handy for you to know that pie crusts do last for a while in the freezer, because I made the crust back in November.  When I was making the crust for the Thanksgiving pie, I read and used the directions for a double crusted pie and didn’t realize until I was finished.  But, it saved me time this week, so it was a good thing🙂

This is such a homely looking pie, but it sure was good.   The custard was absolutely amazing.  I could just eat the custard straight.  Making the custard kind of reminded me of Christmas because of the spices used.  It smelled so good and filled the kitchen.  With the layers of custard and bananas, and the delicious whipped cream topping, it’s hard not to love this dessert.  I served it to some of our friends one night and it was pretty much devoured on the spot.   You can visit Amy’s blog for the recipe, and visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s pies!

dsc_0869

22 Responses

  1. Looks STUNNING to me – glad you liked making it!!

  2. Gorgeous! The layers of your pie look so perfect! This was my first attempt at a banana cream pie too!

  3. Yum. We enjoyed this pie, too. I had to stop myself from eating the custard right out of the bowl.

  4. I almost used a crust that I already had made, but decided to go another route.

  5. It’s good to know a pie crust freezes well. Yours looks great.

  6. Wow – yours is perfect. And I agree, it was hard to stop eating the custard straight from the bowl.

  7. The custard was AWESOME! Your layers are perfection!

  8. Oooh .. your pie photos came out much better than mine. I’m jealous! Don’t you love the custard, though? I keep trying to think of what else I can make with it!

  9. Yours looks great! I agree that your layers look perfect.

  10. I agree–the spiced custard was delish, and it DID taste like Christmas. I love the layers in your big slice.

  11. You already had a crust in the fridge! Lucky! I need to do that …

  12. Yours looks good! I didn’t like the one I made very much, I think I was just off this week. My custard was too thick and didn’t have very much flavor.

  13. Man, I might have to make this custard just to eat plain. It sounds so delicious. And I love spices…spices and creamy custard…match made in heaven? Your pie looks delicious!

  14. Your pie looks great. I’m glad everyone enjoyed it so much.

  15. This look delicious! This pie was a hit at my house🙂

  16. What a gorgeous banana cream pie.. One of my favorite desserts. yours looks fantastic!

  17. I love pies, especially ones with creamy filling and fluffy sweet toppings! Nice pie.

  18. Lovely job on the pie! Isn’t it handy to have stuff stashed in the freezer? Of course, I tend to be a hoarder, so the trick is to make sure I actually use my stash once in a while… =)

  19. It looks delicious! Your layers look perfect! It was a hit at our house too, but I need to perfect some of my pie making skills.

  20. looks fabulous – your whipped cream looks so much better than mine

  21. […] Banana Cream Pie- with the delicious custard, this pie was hard to beat! […]

  22. Looks really stunning. I would love to make it myself, I bet it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

