• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

The Baked Bar

dsc_0613

I was searching for a simple but delicious dessert, and when I saw this recipe for The Baked Bar from the new cookbook Baked: New Frontiers in Baking, I knew it was the answer.  I have seen so many recipes from this book ever since it came out in October 2008, and I have pining for it ever since.  I finally decided to order it (yay for gift cards left from Christmas!) because I knew I would be getting a lot of use out of it.  The Baked Bar is a simple but delicious dessert.  It’s obscenely full of sugary goodness, including white chocolate chips, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and sweetened condensed milk.  It’s doesn’t get much better than that!

The bars start off with what may look at first like a regular graham cracker crust, but it is improved upon by adding sweetened shredded coconut.  After baking the crust and allowing it to cool, you layer the rest of the ingredients, and bake it for about another 30 to 40 minutes.  This allows the topping to become slightly melted, but the chips still retain their shape.  This is a great treat to bring as a snack if you’re going to a party, as an after school snack, a nighttime treat…any time is fitting!

BAKED BARS
from Baked: New Frontiers In Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito
makes 24 bars

For the crust:
2 C (about 6 oz) sweetened shredded coconut
2 1/2 C finely ground graham cracker crumbs (about 20 crackers)
1 C unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:
1 1/3 C walnut halves, toasted and chopped
1 1/2 C (9 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips
3/4 C white chocolate coarsely chopped
3/4 C butterscotch chips
3 1/4 C (26 oz) sweetened condensed milk

Make the Baked Bar crust:
Preheat the oven t0 300 degrees F.

Butter the sides and bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan or spray it with nonstick cooking spray (I lined my pan with foil before buttering- makes it easier to remove from the pan)

On a parchment-lined baking sheet, spread out the coconut. Put the baking sheet in the oven and toast the coconut until it starts to turn golden brown, 7-10 minutes. Remove from the oven, toss the coconut, and return it to the oven for 3 more minutes.

Put the graham cracker crumbs in a large bowl, add the toasted coconut, and toss with your hands until combined. Add the butter. Use your hands to combine the mixture, then turn it out into the prepared pan. Using your hands, press the crust into an even layer on the bottom and up the sides of the pan. Use the bottom of a measuring cup to create a perfectly even crust.

Refrigerate the crust for 15 minutes, then bake for 10 minutes, or until golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack and let the crust cool completely.

Make the Baked Bar filling:
Increase the oven temperature to 325 degrees F.

Evenly spread the nuts in the bottom of the crust.

Spread the chocolate chips over the walnuts, followed by the white chocolate, followed by the butterscotch chips.

In a steady stream, pour the sweetened condensed milk evenly over the filling. Shake the pan very gently to make sure the sweetened condensed milk is evenly distributed.

Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, rotating the pan every 10 minutes, until golden brown and bubbly. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool completely. Cut into squares and serve.

Baked Bars will keep, wrapped tightly and at room temperature, for up to 4 days.

16 Responses

  1. LOVE that you added coconut to the graham cracker crust – holy yum!!

  2. mmmm, these look great! I have a very similar recipe to this bar, that also includes M&Ms. Delicious!

  3. Erin- These look so very delicious. I am going to bookmark this., I love the gooey center.. Awesome photo!

  4. Oh. My. GAWWWD. Those look good.

  5. haven’t tried these yet, but i have made the rootbeer bundt cake and the chocolate peanut butter crispy bars. the former had a typo in the icing (don’t add the salt!!!) but the latter was ah-maz-ing!!!

    cheers,
    kelly

  6. This look amazing!

  7. Mmm, I’ve been wanting to make these baked bars for a while now, and seeing your pictures tells me that I need to make them ASAP. They look totally delicious!! Man oh man, what great flavor combinations. So glad you broke down and got yourself this book!

  8. Mmmm these look super yummy!

  9. I’m getting a cavity just looking at that – next time you have a bite, enjoy it for me!

  10. I’m starring this! My hubs has been asking me to make this type of cookie forever and I just haven’t gotten around to finding a recipe. This looks like “the one”!!🙂

  11. OK….you just convinced me to make these tonight..thanks for this post!

  12. Oh! these look fantastic!!!

  13. I just made these and they are SO yummy!!! Instead of the white chocolate and butterscotch chips I added cut up Milky Way bars and mini marshmallows!! Of course I couldn’t wait for it to completely cool, so I just ate like a spoon full of goo…. But it was delicious!

  14. You can’t go wrong with any of these ingredients – they look delicious!

  15. […] Recipe courtesy of Dinner and Dessert the crust 2 cups sweetened shredded coconut 2 1/2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs (about […]

  16. […] while the girls did a fabulous job with the mini-egg cookies. My request for the night were these squares. I have wanted to make these for a while, but a 9×13 pan of squares is not just something you […]

Leave a Reply

