• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Blueberry Crumb Cake

dsc_0775

This is another recipe that caught my eye when I first got Dorie’s book because it has the most incredible crumb layer.  I knew this would be a hit with my husband.  He loves crumb cakes like this, and raspberry and blueberry are his favorite fruits to go in it.  Neither of us are breakfast eaters.  The last thing I want to do right when I wake up is eat something.  I go running first thing in the morning, and have cereal afterwards.  David likes to eat a snack a couple hours after he gets to work.  I never thought much about this, but I found out that he typically eats pop tarts.  Well, I was determined to make something a little better than a pop tart🙂

I halved the recipe and baked it in two 4.5-inch springform pans.  I really should have used 3 pans, because you can see that it puffed up quite a bit and started to come out of the pan.  It didn’t really matter, though, because this was a big success!  David really loved these and said they were made especially delicious with the crumb topping (because that’s always the best part!).  I will probably be making this again, as well as some other crumb cake varieties in the near future!  Sihan has the recipe posted on her blog, Befuddlement, and you can visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s crumb cakes.

22 Responses

  1. Classic crumb cake goodness.

    I’m the same way – I do yoga first this in the morning and THEN eat. Can’t eat right when I wake up🙂

  2. I’m glad it was a hit- yours looks delicious!

    By the way, you won my giveaway last week, so stop by my blog for my email and let me know your address.🙂

  3. Gorgeous cake.

    I love the crumb topping.

  4. I love that you did these in a spring form pan! So much better than any ole poptart. These look totally fantastic!!

  5. I almost fell out of my chair laughing about the Pop Tarts. Bad boy!

    I’m like you, I can NEVER eat first thing in the morning.

  6. Speaking of pop tarts, I thought about adding a drizzle of sweet glaze to the top of this crumb cake. Maybe next time!

  7. Can’t go wrong with a good crumb cake recipe can you?! Well done, looks beautiful!

  8. That looks like heaven on a plate. YUM.

  9. I like that photo.

    I so wish I liked to run. My life would be so much easier.

    How great that you just discovered a new baking outlet – sweet breakfast treats for your husband! I usually keep some muffins in the freezer – my husband takes one to work each day. They only take an hour or two to defrost, so they’re ready by the time he is.

    You know what’s weird – I halved the recipe and baked it in 2 4-inch pans too, but mine aren’t nearly that tall. I love the look of tall cakes.

  10. My husband eats breakfast at work too. He used to eat pop-tarts a lot. He’s now eating instant oatmeal, which is at least a little better. =)

  11. What a nice treat for your man. I have to eat a little something before I run. I wait for twenty minutes, then take off. You know, someone added toasted almond to theirs. I bet you could add toasted oats, too. That would be a cool runner’s snack. Nicely done.

  12. I’m the exact opposite. I wake up thinking about breakfast🙂 Your little cake looks gorgeous. I made mine with cranberries but can’t wait to try the blueberry version!

  13. Hey Im a first thing in the morning runner too..know other way to start the day! Im glad you liked the cake and yes I think it’s an upgrade from pop tarts!
    I really loved this recipe and had to run a few extra miles to work it off! I agree with you on the topping. I thought it was the best part!

  14. Looking good! Tell your man I said toaster strudels rule and pop tarts drool!😛

  15. Yours looks so good! We loved this cake🙂

  16. my hubby loved this too! i think they look cute as rounds🙂

  17. Hi,
    I was wondering if you knew that your post was also on this url

    http://dzairy.com/wordo/tuesdays-with-dorie-blueberry-crumb-cake

    I found one of my food posts on there too and just wanted to stop the plagiarism.

  18. Your little cakes look great, as does your photo!

  19. That looks perfect for breakfast. I like to walk in the a.m. and feel so much better after. But only want a really light breakfast. And sweet things on weekends. This is perfect. And yours looks great.

  20. Definitely better than pop tarts🙂 Great job!

  21. Looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

