• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Armagnac Cake

dsc_0514

I sometimes sit down and read Baking: From My Home to Yours like a regular book.  I love flipping through the pages and looking at the beautiful pictures, of course, but I also love reading Dorie’s stories.  She usually tells about the background of the recipe and experiences she has had while making or serving it.  This recipe caught my attention for the great story behind it.  Dorie was tired of making the same desserts day after day, so she decided to  make some changes to the usual menu by creating this cake.  This did not go over well at all with her boss, and so this became known as the cake that got Dorie fired!  It looks like she didn’t suffer much from the experience though🙂

dsc_0516

I was pretty excited when this was chosen.  I actually thought it would get chosen early on.  This is a fairly simple cake with just one layer baked in a springform pan and covered with a chocolate glaze.  The recipe calls for prunes, and I don’t care for prunes and didn’t want them in my cake, so I skipped them.  We don’t have armagnac or anything similar in the house, but we did have rum, so I decided to throw in a splash of rum to still get the liquor flavor.  I also made it gluten free by subbing extra finely ground walnuts for the extra flour.  The result was a very rich, dense, chocolaty cake that I really enjoyed.  It’s the perfect cake for a chocolate lover!  Thanks to Lyb of And Then I Do the Dishes for choosing this!  You can visit her blog for the recipe, and look at the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s cakes!

24 Responses

  1. Beautiful job! My cake was flat but your’s looks perfect!!!!

  2. looks fudgy and delicious!!

  3. Oh, what a good idea to make this gluten-free. But you should seriously give the dried fruit a chance! I smooshed my prunes up after flambeing, so there wasn’t really bits of dried fruit in the cake, just an overall moistness. Not that pure unadulterated chocolate cake is a bad thing either…

  4. wow – this looks so good!

  5. Your cake looks really perfect. And I often read cookbooks as though they’re a novel… it’s sad! 🙂

  6. Why did I not think to just simply leave out the prunes? See, now that I could have baked for the family, minus the booze too. Good post.

  7. Mmm, I love that you made this cake gluten free! I bet it tastes even better with more nuts and no flour. Man, this chocolate cake looks dense and delicious (in fact, I’m pretty sure those adjectives are synonyms)!

  8. Nice adaptation – I left out the fruit as well, and used scotch. It came out really chocolatey and rich – my kind of cake!

  9. Your cake looks fantastic! I used raisins instead of prunes and wasn’t crazy about the result.

  10. Your cake looks gorgeous!

  11. Nice cake! Im glad you made it to your liking.

  12. wow it looks super dense!! wonder if that’s b/c you omitted the flour?

  13. Great cake! I read my cookbooks like regular books too.

  14. Haha I remember reading that story when I got the book! Your cake looks really delish!

  15. Oh man! First I had to make it though the Daring Bakers Chocolate Valentino cake and now I have to stare at these pictures! Might need chocolate…immediately!

  16. Your cake looks so rich and delicious. I am impressed that the walnuts worked as a good sub for the flour.

  17. Wow, that glaze looks fan-freakin-tastic.

  18. You cake looks beautiful. I love cookbooks like Baking that include stories, it always makes me want to try the recipes even more.

  19. Wow! This looks so delicious. I love the photo of the glaze hanging off the side!

  20. oohh.. more nuts with no flour? Sounds really interesting! I’m gonna give it a try one of these days!😉

  21. Wow, your cake looks beautiful! I wasn’t crazy about this recipe but glad you enjoyed it🙂

  22. I love the close ups of that beautiful slice…i’m glad that even without prunes, the cake will turn out .

  23. Nice slice! Me likey!

Leave a Reply

