• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Classic Granola

I was looking through my drafts, and realized that I had a couple updates that I have forgotten about!  I made this back in May for the out-of-town bags for our wedding guests.  This was a really great recipe, so I wanted to share!

I had been interested in making granola for a while now, and found a recipe from Cook’s Illustrated that I wanted to try. I thought it would be a good idea to include it in our out-of-town bags for guests at our wedding. I figured granola would make a good snack that they would appreciate while staying at the hotel. This granola was quite tasty. It wasn’t as crunchy as I expected, but it did have a great flavor.  I really liked the addition of the coconut and raisins.  The maple syrup gave it a great boost.  It was slightly sweet, but not overly so.  This would be great added to yogurt or fruit, or just eaten alone.

Classic Granola (Source: Cook’s Illustrated July 1994)

1 cup walnuts, broken up into ¼ to ½ inch pieces
3 cups rolled oats
½ cup unsweetened shredded coconut
½ cup blanched almonds, halved
¼ cup sesame seeds
¼ cup sunflower seeds
¼ cup maple syrup
¼ cup honey
1/3 cup canola oil
1 cup raisins

Adjust oven rack to center position and heat oven to 325 degrees. Mix first 6 ingredients together in large bowl.

Heat maple syrup and honey together with oil in small saucepan, whisking occasionally until warm. Pour mixture over dry ingredients; stir with spatula until mixture is thoroughly coated. Turn mixture onto an 11-by-7-inch jelly roll pan, spreading mixture in an even layer.

Bake, stirring and respreading mixture into an even layer every 5 minutes, until granola is light golden brown, about 15 minutes. Immediately turn granola onto another jelly roll pan to stop cooking process. Stir in raisins, then spread granola evely in pan; set on a wire rack and cool to room temperature. Loosen dried granola with a spatula; store in airtight container.

Yield: 7-8 cups

8 Responses

  1. Nice! I love when I come along a recipe from Cooks Illustrated that I didn’t think they’d have. I didn’t know they had one for granola.

  2. I was going to make granola this weekend. Now I don’t have to go searching for a recipe anymore. Thanks!

  3. I love granola! Yours looks especially good. Your idea of using the granola as a gift for the out-of-town guests is so clever!! Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  4. Mmm I love granola! And Cook’s Ill. really know they’re stuff!

  5. Oh yum! I was just loving the granola (store bought) and yogurt for my breakfast last week. How great to be able to make my own!

  6. I have almost all the ingredients on hand – I need to make this soon!

  7. I’ve never thought of having an “out of town” bag for wedding guests. What a great idea! I’m sure they’ll love this granola.

  8. […] freeze a portion of it so it stays fresh longer. This one from Cook’s Illustrated via Dinner & Dessert is my favorite recipe and is loaded with nuts and dried fruit. This coconut honey almond one […]

Leave a Reply

