• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Peanut Butter Cup Surprise Cookies

dsc_0183

We have the most amazing group of friends, and we make it a point to get together at least once a month (more if possible) to go out to dinner.  Usually we go to someone’s house afterwards, and I like to make a dessert and play hostess:)  It usually takes me a long time to decide what to make, and I found myself still deciding on Friday afternoon.  When I saw Annie’s post, I knew this would be a good idea, and to make it even better, there was no flour!  And it’s hard to say no to peanut butter chocolate.  With the addition of M&Ms (my favorite candy ever), marshmallows, and a chocolate drizzle, I’m sold!

I was talking to my mom about these and we had a laugh over the person who thought these up.  The peanut butter cookies and Reese’s Cup aren’t really anything new, but it seems as if this person just thought of ways to add as much candy as possible!  I also like the way they are baked in a mini-muffin tin.  That just makes them even cuter.

dsc_0191

These were delicious treats, and they were a big hit!  Everyone loved the candy-packed confection and gobbled them right up.  I think these are great to serve at a party or when you’re having people over for a football game or movie night (we watched Heathers that night- if you haven’t seen it, you definitely should!).  Their small size makes for a pretty presentation and they are easy to serve.  This was such an irrestible combination of ingredients, and I am so glad I made them!  I make the ganache from Dorie’s Baking: From My Home to Yours because I really like the way it turns out.  I used her recipe for Bittersweet Ganache, but used semisweet chocolate instead since I like the ganache to be a little on the sweeter side.

dsc_0184

Peanut Butter Cup Surprise Cookies
Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients:
2 cups creamy peanut butter
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
24 mini Reeses peanut butter cups, unwrapped
mini marshmallows

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Combine peanut butter, sugar and eggs in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Beat until well combined.  Divide the dough evenly between 24 wells of a mini-muffin pan (I usually have a bit left over, but do so to leave room for the candy).  Make an indentation in the center of each dough ball.  Bake for 13-15 minutes, until almost done.  Remove from the oven and press a peanut butter cup into the center of each cookie until it is flush with the top of the dough.  Top each cookie with 3-4 mini marshmallows.  Return the pan to the oven and bake 2-3 minutes more, until the marshmallows have puffed up.  Transfer the pans to a wire cooling rack and allow the cookies to cool completely in the pan before removing them.
For the Ganache
4 oz bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 T unsalted butter, at room temperature

Put the chocolate in a small deep heatproof bowl. Bring the heavy cream to a full boil, then pour it over the chocolate. Wait for 1 minute, then gently whisk the cream into the chocolate: start at the centre and slowly work your way out in concentric circles until you have a smooth, shiny mixture. Gently whisk in the butter.

Line a small baking sheet with wax paper. One by one, hold a madeleine at its narrow end and dip it into the chocolate, then lift it up, let the excess chocolate drip back into the bowl and place smooth side down on the wax paper. Slide the baking sheet into the refrigerator to set the glaze, about 15 minutes (You’ll have more ganache than you need, but making a larger quantity produces a better ganache. The leftover dip can be covered and refrigerated for 1 week or frozen for up to 1 month.)

If you’d like, pipe a little squiggle of fluff on the top of each madeleine once the chocolate is set.

Source: Picky Palate, as seen on Annie’s Eats

13 Responses

  1. I love this class treat! There is something so wonderful about PB cups. Chocolate, peanut butter, no way to go wrong with such a heavenly pair! I think I need a batch of these right now!

  2. So cute! These are so festive, and you can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate, plus m&ms!!

  3. How fun!! I love the mini M&M’s!!

  4. My girls and my guy would gobble those up in minutes. They look delicious!

  5. Oh wow, these are so cute! And anything with Reese’s in the recipe has got to be delicious!

  6. Yum Im sure your friends loved these!

  7. I came across your blog on the nest cooking board. This along with all your dishes and baked goods look so good. I have to try this. Great blog and I will be sure to return.

  8. Ooohh yeahhh!! I’ll take a few of those little bites of glory! ;D

  9. I totally agree, it’s like you’re trying to fit as much candy as possible into the mini-muffin pan🙂 Glad you enjoyed them!

  10. These look so fun and delicious. I bet they would be perfect for a kids birthday party.

  11. This recipe look fun, i think my 2 year old niece will love to try to make this. Hope she have fun with it and i hope it turn out right.

  12. So excited to try these for my daughter who is gluten free! Thanks for a yummy gluten-free recipe!!

  13. […] didn’t keep their indentation, so I needed to fine another method.  Luckily, I made these peanut butter cup treats last year, so I used the mini muffin tin method.  This worked perfectly!  All you need to do is […]

Leave a Reply

