• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Jambalaya

dsc_0103

David and I just love Jambalaya, but I haven’t found a recipe that I am in love with yet.  When I saw Kelly’s post, I thought it looked promising, so I decided to make it for dinner one night.  The best part about Jambalaya is that you can tweak it based on your personal taste and the ingredients you have on hand.  The original recipe called for shrimp, chicken, and sausage, but I decided to just use sausage.  I was going to try shrimp and sausage, but I realized that I was out of shrimp, so I’ll have to try that next time.  I also didn’t have sage so I increased the thyme slightly.  I also added a tad bit more cayenne pepper since we like things on the spicy side :)  I omitted the celery since neither of us likes it.  I also added the seasonings before baking rather than after.  I loved the way the flavors came out.  I liked how this didn’t have so many ingredients, but that the ingredients that were present mixed so well together and wasn’t overpowering.  It was just spicy enough for us.  Baking it for 30 minutes also gave rice the perfect cooked texture.  Because it is baked, it’s a great weeknight dish because you don’t have to spend a lot of time over the stove preparing it.  I was so happy with how this came out.  This is now one of our favorite dinners, and one that I will make over and over!  Below is the recipe I used.  I included the instructions for the shrimp, since I intend to use shrimp next time, but you can most definitely leave it out.  For the original recipe that also includes chicken, you can visit Kelly’s blog (link below).

Jambalaya
Source: adapted from Sass & Veracity

For the jambalaya…
1 T extra virgin olive oil
1/2 c. Andouille
1/2 c. onion, chopped
1/2 c. bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 c. canned diced tomatoes in puree
3/4 c. long grain white rice
1-1/4 c. chicken broth
1 T Worcestershire sauce
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb. shrimp, shelled, tails on (reserve shells) (I didn’t use shrimp this time, but will try it next)
2 T flat-leafed parsley, chopped

For the seasoning…
¼-1/2  tsp. cayenne
1 tsp. pepper, freshly ground
1 tsp. kosher salt
1 tsp. dried thyme

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Shell the shrimp and set aside.  Place shells into a lidded saucepan and add the chicken broth.  Bring the mixture to a low simmer, and allow to simmer about 20 minutes.  Pour broth through a strainer and toss the shells.  Keep the broth warm.

In a large, oven-proof covered pan, heat the olive oil and over medium heat.  Add the Andouille to the same pan and cook just until it begins to brown.

Mix together the onion and bell pepper and add half of this mixture to the pan with the Andouille.  Cook until the veggies begin to soften and add the tomatoes.  Stir to mix and cook for 1-2 minutes before adding the rice.  Allow to cook an additional 2 minutes before adding the chicken/shrimp broth, the rest of the vegetable mixture, Worcestershire sauce, and garlic, and the seasonings.

Put the lid on the pan and place in the oven to bake about 30 minutes.


5 Responses

  1. What a tasty meal!!

  2. Looks delicious and hearty!

  3. oh man, chocolate beer cupcakes and a nutritious, delicious dinner. it doesn’t get much better. i, like you, LOVE jambalaya. haven’t made it in a while, and your post has totally inspired to put it on my list of weekly dinners!

  4. This looks great! I have a jambalaya recipe but would like to try this one since mine uses some bizarre measurements.

  5. […] Dinner & Dessert, originally from Sass & […]

Leave a Reply

