• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Butterscotch Cashew Bars

dsc_0128

These have been on my list of things to make, and I finally decided to make them last week.  I love anything butterscotch, and I thought the cashews would be an interesting twist.  These bars have a shortbread crust, which is great combined with the butterscotch sauce.  I can’t say enough about the butterscotch sauce.  It was so sweet and full of butterscotch flavor.  I think it would also be good drizzled over some ice cream.  You first bake the shortbread crust, and then you top it with the butterscotch sauce and the cashews.  These had the perfect combination of sweet and salty.  Everyone seemed to really like them.  It seems like men are crazy about cashews, and the cashews in this recipe got them pretty excited.  It was nice to seem them in a recipe, because you usually see peanuts.  One of the teachers at school said they reminded her of a Pay Day bar, but that the cashews and the crust and filling were even better.  These would make a great dessert to serve when you have people over, because you can pick them up easily.  I would definitely make them again!

Butterscotch Cashew Bars
from The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy

  • 1/2 pound (2 sticks, or 1 cup) butter
  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 & 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 11 ounces butterscotch chips
  • 3/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon water
  • 2 cups roasted salted whole cashews
  • Preheat oven to 350°. Spray a 9″x 13″ pan with cooking spray. Using two sheets of parchment paper, line the pan’s width and length, creating a parchment “sling.” Spray parchment paper with cooking spray.
  • Using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter, brown sugar, and salt for 1 to 1 & 1/2 minutes. Decrease mixer speed to low and add the flour. Mix just until combined. Lightly press dough evenly into the prepared pan. Poke holes in the dough with a fork. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, until the crust is a golden color. Remove to wire rack to cool.
  • In a heavy saucepan over low heat, stir together butterscotch chips, corn syrup, and water. Stir until mixture comes to a simmer and butterscotch chips are melted. Pour over crust.
  • Sprinkle cashews over the butterscotch caramel. Bake for 5 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack. After cooling, remove from pan and use a very sharp knife to cut into bars.
  • Makes 2 dozen 2-inch bars.


13 Responses

  1. This looks delicious!

  2. Yum I love the cashew nuts and everything else in this recipe! I have a lonnnggg list of treats I want to make too. Im adding this one to it!

  3. Those look great. I’ll have to try them.

  4. you know what’s funny? cashews are probably my favorite nuts; i won’t stop eating them if you put them anywhere near me. but, despite their high ranking in my nut book, i have yet to make any desserts with them. well, your recipe is about to change all of that. those bars look divine, and i cannot wait to try them!

  5. I love cashews! Looks great.

  6. These look delicious!

  7. I think I will make these for my kids’ teachers. Nice recipe.

  8. This looks like one of those things I can look at, and imagine it’s taste! YUM! You always have the BEST desserts! I wish I had more occasions to bake!

  9. Wow, those look delicious. I love cashews. The more recipes I see from that cookbook, the more I think I need to get a copy. =)

  10. These sound awesome! My hubby is a butterscotch fanatic so I’m bookmarking these to make for him.

  11. My husband LOVES cashews. Every year for Christmas my mom gets him one of those huge canisters of cashews. He snacks on them almost daily and they’re usually gone by March! He’d love this dessert.

  12. Great blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would
    really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Appreciate it

  13. Hi! My wife and I frequently write guest posts for other web site owners to help
    gain exposure to our work, as well as provide fantastic content to website owners.
    It’s a win win situation! If you happen to be interested feel free to contact me at: felixcall@gmail.com so we can communicate further. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

