• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

dsc_0139

When I saw these in the February issue of Martha Stewart Living, I knew I had to make them!  They looked so cute, and I knew it would be hard to resist the pastry cream and chocolate.  I think it’s so funny that Boston Cream Pie is not actually a pie, but rather a cake.  I’ve never had or made the cake, but I would imagine these cupcakes are very similar.  They came together very easily.  Next time I will take them out of the oven a couple minutes earlier, because I think they were very slightly overbaked.  The pastry cream was delicious and had just the right amount of sweetness.  I made it a day ahead, so all I had to do the next day was stir it up to loosen it a bit and spread on the cupcakes.  The ganache was a typical ganache and came together as expected.  I thought these would make a huge mess, but I was glad that everything stayed in place just as it was supposed to.  This was a great way to enjoy the taste of Boston Cream Pie in cupcake form, and they were enjoyed by all!

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes (from Martha Stewart Living February 2009)

Makes 18.

Cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for tins
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 3 ounces (6 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened, plus more for tins
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour standard muffin tins. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Warm milk and butter in a saucepan over low heat.
  • Beat eggs and sugar with a mixer on high speed until thick and pale, about 5 minutes. Beat in dry ingredients.
  • Bring milk and butter to a boil. With mixer on low speed, add milk mixture to batter, and beat until smooth. Add vanilla. Divide batter among muffin cups, filling each halfway. Bake cupcakes until light gold, about 15 minutes. Let cool in tins for 10 minutes, then transfer to wire racks. Let cool.
  • Using a serrated knife, cut each in half horizontally. Spread 1 tablespoon vanilla cream on each cupcake bottom. Sandwich with top. Spoon glaze over each, and serve immediately.

Vanilla Cream

Makes 1 1/2 cups.

  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • Whisk yolks until smooth. Mix sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add milk in a slow, steady stream. Cook, stirring, until mixture begins to bubble and thicken, about 5 minutes.
  • Pour 1/3 of milk mixture into yolks, whisking constantly. Return mixture to saucepan, and cook over medium heat, stirring often, until thick, 2 to 4 minutes. Stir in vanilla.
  • Pass vanilla cream through a fine sieve into a bowl. Press plastic wrap directly on surface. Refrigerate until cold, at least 1 hour, or up to 2 days.

Chocolate-Ganache Glaze

Makes about 1 1/4 cups.

  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 6 ounces semisweet chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup

Remove from heat, and add chocolate and corn syrup. Let stand for 5 minutes. Whisk until smooth. Transfer to a bowl, and let cool, stirring often. Use immediately.


15 Responses

  1. Very cute!! Yum.

  2. YUM! I was JUST eying this recipe this morning! I am going to try these for sure.🙂

  3. Boston Cream Pie is one of my favorites, although I have never made it myself. Somehow the cupcakes seem less intimidating though. These look great and I am definitely saving this recipe🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, what a great idea! I’ve made Martha Stewart’s boston cream pie before, so I bet this tastes really similar. The smaller size is adorable! Must make these.

  5. Omg, I have been craving Boston cream pie forever! I am totally making these soon! MMMMMM!

  6. I saw that magazine at the checkstand today, and I came thisclose to buying it. Yours is the second post of cupcakes from that issue that I’ve seen today.

    My dad loves Boston cream pie, so these would be perfect.

  7. these are the cutest cupcakes! i can’t wait to try them!!

  8. I made this one too and it was delicious! I’ve been making quite a few of the cupcake recipes from this issue – in fact today I’m doing the strawberry ones.

  9. I am going to make these. They look awesome. I am going to cheat and use a cake mix, though!

  10. Oh my gosh those look superlitive!

    Just letting you know my blog address because I really want comments! so please visit if you’d like!
    Norasworldofbaking.blogspot.com

  11. These look so good! I’m definitely going to give them a try!

  12. Super cute!!

  13. I love the looks of these. What a perfect Valentines day treat..yummy!

  14. I love Boston Cream Pie and these are SO cute! Mmm, I wish I had one right now.

  15. […] BOSTON CREAM PIE CUPCAKES (Recipe source: Martha Steward Living, February 2009. Also seen on Dinner & Dessert) […]

Leave a Reply

