• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chicken Brunswick Stew

dsc_0030

I love soup, but David is not a fan of most soups, so we really don’t eat it all that often.  Luckily, though, he likes this kind of soup.  He says that “hearty” soups like this with the chicken or a beef stew are fine, so I tend to make things like this when I crave soup in the winter.  My mom made this soup several years ago, when I was still in high school.  The church just came out with a cookbook to support the preschool there.  This recipe came from someone she knew, so she decided to try it.  We all loved it, so we had it quite a bit while I was still living at home.

We are usually busy on Tuesdays, so I wanted to find a good dinner to make in the crockpot.  I immediately thought about this soup and decided to make it.  I love the way the flavors blend together.  It has the perfect amount of heat, but it’s definitely not too spicy.  I just love the taste of warm chicken in a soup like this.  The corn and tomatoes are the perfect addition to the shredded chicken.  I realized as I was making this that it had been forever since I made a meal in the crockpot.  I love coming home and being able to smell dinner cooking.  It’s maximum benefit for minimum effort!  We like to have this with rice, but you could have it on its own as well.

Chicken Brunswick Stew
Source: Pickles, Pies, & Presbyterians (a local cookbook from the church I grew up in)

2 large onions, chopped

6 skinless boneless chicken breast halves

2 (15-ounce) cans cream-style corn

1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes

1 (12-ounce) bottle chili sauce

1 (14.5-ounce) can chicken broth

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce

¼ cup butter, cut up

2 tablespoons vinegar

2 teaspoons dry mustard

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

½ teaspoon pepper sauce

1 tablespoon sugar

Place onion in a 4-quart slow cooker; place chicken breasts on top of the onions.  Add corn, tomatoes, chili sauce, chicken broth, Worcestershire sauce, butter, vinegar, mustard, sugar, salt, pepper, and pepper sauce.  Cover and cook on HIGH for 4 hours or until chicken is tender.  Remove the chicken and shred; return to stew.  Mix thoroughly and serve.


6 Responses

  1. This looks great and I’ve never had something like this before. My husband isn’t big on soups either, but I think he would like this. I’m going to give it a shot! Thanks🙂

  2. This looks delicious! I can’t wait to try it!

  3. What a great looking recipe and so neat to have found it in a local church cookbook!

  4. Oh my goodness! Your post has me so excited. Brunswick stew just happens to be one of my favorites, and like you, I adore having soups and stews whenever I get the chance. I actually just invested in a Crock Pot, and I think that this will be the recipe that christens the crock pot. Your stew looks delicious!

  5. […] Source: Cook Like a Champion, who found it on Dinner and Dessert […]

  6. […] Dinner and Dessert Printer Friendly […]

Leave a Reply

