• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Malted Cupcakes

img_2251

I had been wanting to make the Chocolate Malted Layer Cake from the Sweet Melissa Baking Book for a while now.  When a friend asked me to make a dessert for her graduation party back in December (she finished with her PhD in Policy Studies), I thought about several different desserts before deciding to make these.  I made them into cupcakes since I thought that would be easier for a party and people could just grab them easily.

These were some really good cupcakes!  They were perfectly flavorful and moist.  My favorite part, of course, was the frosting.  The malted flavor really came out and mixed in really well with the chocolate, which is expected because there is a lot of malted powder added in.  These were so nice and sweet and chocolaty.  The coffee in the cupcake really added a lot of flavor and depth to the chocolate.  I added chopped Whoppers on top for some extra flavor and decoration.  I was able to be generous with the frosting and still had a little bit left over which I saved and ate straight🙂

img_22481

Chocolate Malted Cake
Source: The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy

FOR THE CAKE:
6 ounces best-quality unsweetened chocolate
2/3 cup canola oil
2 & 2/3 cups sugar
1 & 2/3 cups AP flour
1/3 cup of unsweetened dutch cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
¾ teaspoon of kosher salt
2/3 cup of sour cream
3 large eggs
1 & 1/3 cups of hot fresh brewed coffee

FOR THE CHOCOLATE MALTED FROSTING:
1 pound best quality milk chocolate
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup malted milk powder
¼ cup light corn syrup
8 tablespoons of butter, at room temp.
8 ounces of malted milk balls

Position the rack in the center of your oven. Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Butter and flour two 9×2-inch cake rounds (I used two 5×2-inch pans and halved the recipe). Line each pan with parchment paper.

1. In the top of a double boiler set over simmering water, melt the chocolate, stirring occasionally. When the chocolate is melted whisk in the oil until smooth. Remove from the heat and keep warm over the water.

2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Mix well.

3. In a small bowl whisk together the eggs and the sour cream smooth.

4. Add the egg mixture to the flour and mix until well combined, scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the melted chocolate and mix well. Add the hot coffee in a steady stream until combined. Scrape the sides of the bowl (the batter is thin).

5. Divide the batter evenly among the pans. Bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and place on wire rack to cool for 25 minutes. Remove cakes from pans and cool completely on the wire racks.

FROSTING:

1. Chop the chocolate into small pieces and place in a medium bowl.

2. In a small saucepan over medium heat bring the heavy cream to a simmer. Whisk in the malted milk powder to combine. Pour over the chocolate. Do not stir. Wait five minutes, and then whisk chocolate until creamy. Stir in the corn syrup. Place a sheet of plastic wrap directly on the chocolate and let cool to room temperature.

3. When the chocolate is cooled, place it in the bowl of electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Add the butter one tablespoon at a time and mix on low until smooth.

4. The icing is the filling and frosting for this cake. I chose to cut my cake into four layers and placed a small amount of icing in between each layer. I stored the cake in the fridge.


19 Responses

  1. I definitely ate the frosting straight when I made this cake too – it is soo good! Cupcakes are a good idea though; the full-on cake is difficult to make your way through since it’s so rich. They’re cute too, which doesn’t hurt🙂

  2. I have been wanting to make these for awhile. Thanks for the reminder. Yours look wonderful.

  3. These looks delicious! Great job!

  4. Your cupcakes look delicious! Love your blog!

  5. When you use kosher salt, do you use Morton or Diamond (or maybe even a different brand)? According to Cook’s Illustrated, Morton is saltier than Diamond, and so you use less. I’d love to make these cupcakes but don’t want them to be under- or oversalted. Thanks!

  6. Diane- I use Morton and it seems to come out fine! I didn’t know CI did a review- I’ll have to check it out!

  7. Thanks so much for the quick reply. Here’s the online CI article. It’s from the September 2008 magazine. https://www.cooksillustrated.com/howto/detail.asp?docid=1175

    Your cupcakes are absolutely adorable! I can’t wait to make these for a special group I get to cook for once a month.

  8. Looks delicious! I have been wanting to make these too, but haven’t found the malted milk at my grocery. I’ll have to search and find it and make these.

  9. These cupcakes look so good, I definitley need to try these sometime. Thanks for sharing!

  10. YUM! Those look great! That cookbook is on my wishlist. I’m glad the recipe worked out.

  11. oh YUM! My dad loves all things malted so these would be perfect for him!

  12. These look amazing! I am mesmerized by the super-shiny chocolate frosting.🙂 I’m not usually the biggest malt fan, but I’m definitely craving these cupcakes now.

  13. Erin, these look fun! Were they easy to eat? Sometimes fresh malt balls tend to have the texture of jawbreakers.

    These look great and I will try the choco malted frosting on my choco cupcakes sometime.

    Thanks for sharing!😀

  14. These look just delicious!

  15. These are SOO freaking cute! I LOVE them!

  16. These pretty much look AMAZING! I can’t wait to try them. I doubt mine will be as pretty as yours are, though.

  17. These look great. I bet they were wonderful. Why havent I found your blog before!

  18. Drooooool. I’ve been wanting to make this recipe for a long time – actually I think it’s the reason I bought that cookbook! I love the chopped whoppers you put on top – a perfect touch.

  19. This is one of the best recipes I have seen today! Lovely.

Leave a Reply

