• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Berry Surprise Cake

dsc_00323

This week’s recipe is the Berry Surprise Cake, chosen by Mary Ann of Meet Me in the Kitchen.  When I first heard the name of this cake, the first thing that popped in my mind was the Perfect Party Cake.  I thought they would be similar, but instead I saw that the Berry Surprise Cake was actually just a one-layer cake baked in a springform pan.  The techniques and methods used sounded really interesting to me, so I was excited about getting started.

dsc_0028

I hit a little snag on the way.  Dorie said to beat the egg yolks until ribbons formed for about 5-7 minutes.  I kept beating and beating and I thought I was close enough to ribbons and I didn’t want to overbeat the mixture, so I stopped.  When I pulled the cake out of the oven, it sank in the middle.  I’m not totally sure, but I think it was because I didn’t beat the mixture long enough.  Since the cake sank so much, I decided to just fill the part that sank in with the filling.  This actually worked out quite well and no one was the wiser.  I decided to use strawberries since they were easier to find (and cheaper) than raspberries.  The whipped cream frosting was very good and was just sweet enough.  The whipped cream and cream cheese filing went so well with this cake.  It was very well recieved when I served it.  The strawberries made me wish it was summer though- hard to imagine in these freezing cold temperatures we’ve been having!  Thanks to Mary Ann for choosing this cake.  You can view the recipe on her blog.  Head over to the Tuesdays with Dorie blog so see the other berry creations!

13 Responses

  1. My cake looks alot like yours! It looks like we had about the same baking experience too! Im glad it tasted yummy. Your strawberries looks scrumptious!

  2. Your cake looks beautiful and I used strawberries for mine too! I think i hit a similar snag too with the cake. Mine didn’t rise enough so I didn’t get the chance to cut out the circle to fill. Oh well… but it did sure taste great!

  3. Yes, I agree that this cake was more well suited to the warm weather. But it sure looks tasty, though!

  4. that looks gorgeous! Sure fits the bill for summer. Kind of strange in this season.. but then again i live in the tropics. so everyday is summer! haha.

  5. Your cake looks yummy. I’m glad it worked out for you.

  6. Glad you enjoyed it! Looks tasty!

  7. Gorgeous cake.

    Mine didn’t even rise.

    I had to make a parfait.

  8. I agree – this would be wonderful in the summer. It’s just so pretty and light. Yours looks wonderful!

  9. Yeah, this would be a great summer cake. Maybe, it could be winterized by adding cocoa and a chocolate syrup and frosting. Then, add dark berries or something. I would never have been able to tell you had problems. Your cake looks great!

  10. You did a beautiful job!

    I made cupcakes that were good on the first day, more like cuprocks the second day.

  11. Looks sooooo lovely! Mine sunk too. Yours looks completely nice and yummy!

  12. Erin, that is why I wasn’t a fan of the cake recipe itself. I made cupcakes and they didn’t rise so much as well.

    Your cake looks yum!🙂

  13. Ooh, that looks good. I want to try this one again with various berries once spring is here.

Leave a Reply

