• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chocolate Fudge

img_2220

Fudge is one of my favorite sweets to eat.  I’ve been making so much of it this winter, and trying so many different varieties.  Most recipes I’ve tried include marshmallow fluff, which is delicious, but I know that it isn’t “true” fudge, so I made it a point this year to try making fudge without it.  It was actually quite difficult to find such a recipe, but I eventually settled on one from Joy of Baking.  It seemed pretty easy to follow, so I decided to make some for the Christmas party my husband and I held earlier in December.

This fudge was easy to make and came together well, although it did take more time than marshmallow fluff because of the cooling time.  It was hard to wait that long!  But it was definitely worth it.  I learned more about the candy making process because I watched the fudge as it heated up and cooled, as well as when I stirred it and watched it loose its shine.  This recipe made for a delicious, chocolaty fudge and a recipe I will definitely stick with!

Chocolate Fudge (Source: Joy of Baking)

Chocolate Fudge Recipe:

2 cups (400 grams) granulated white sugar

2 squares (2 ounces) (60 grams) unsweetened chocolate, chopped

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

2/3 cup (160 ml) half-and-half (or light cream)

2 tablespoons (28 grams) unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Chocolate Fudge: Grease the bottom and sides of an 8 x 8 x 2 inch (20 x 20 x 5 cm) pan with about 1 tablespoon (14 grams) of room temperature unsalted butter. Set aside.

In a heavy 2 1/2 – 3 quart saucepan, place the sugar, chocolate, light corn syrup, and half-and-half. Over medium-low heat stir the ingredients, with a wooden spoon, until it comes to a boil. Cover the pan with a lid for about 2-3 minutes to allow the sides of the pan to wash themselves down and dissolve any sugar crystals. Remove lid and clamp a candy thermometer onto the side of the saucepan and, making sure it does not touch the bottom of the pan, boil the mixture gently (adjust the heat as necessary) until the temperature reaches the soft ball stage (236 degrees F) (113 degrees C). Do not stir or shake. (Wash down the sides of the pan with a pastry brush dipped in cold water if any granules form.)

Remove from heat and drop the 2 tablespoons of butter on top of the fudge, but do not stir the butter into the fudge. Allow the fudge to cool to lukewarm (110 degrees F) (38 – 43 degrees C). Remove the thermometer and add the vanilla extract and salt. Beat the fudge (you can do this by hand with a wooden spoon or with an electric hand mixer) until it begins to lose its shine and is nice and creamy. Pour into the prepared pan and let cool for several hours before cutting into squares.

Store and serve at room temperature.

Makes one 8 x 8 inch (20 x 20 cm) pan of fudge.


8 Responses

  1. That looks great! I’ve been wanting to try non-marshmallow fluff fudge as well. I’ll have to bookmark this recipe.

  2. This fudge looks delicious and I like that it doesn’t involve marshmallow fluff!

  3. Making real fudge is on my list of cooking goals this year. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  4. I too attempted to make fudge without marshmallow fluff. I can always tell if the fudge I’m eating is “real” or not. Unfortunately, my fudge failed, and didn’t make it onto my blog!! Haha… I think I’ll have to try this recipe next Christmas!

  5. ohhh, i need to make fudge again — i made a batch a long time ago, but now that i’ve experimented more with candy, i really need another go! yours looks amazing!

  6. I LOVE fudge, and this looks so delicious!!

  7. Ok, I’m totally having a chocolate craving right now. How did you know??😉 This looks great!
    ~bensbaby116

  8. Yum! This fudge looks delish. I love that website (joy of baking). There is so much I want to try.

Leave a Reply

