• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

img_2234

Can you believe it’s almost Christmas?  After a very busy last week of school, I am finally on Christmas Break.  I baked so much during the last week for various parties and other events, so I have quite a few blog updates to do.  At work we had a cookie exchange and when I was trying to decide what to make, I thought of these cookies that were on the cover of Martha Stewart’s Cookies. I have also recently realized just how much I love the combination of chocolate and gingerbread after making this cake, so I knew I would like these.  These cookies have a few extra steps to them, such as chilling the dough for a couple periods of time, but I will admit that I was making these at night and didn’t have time to chill the dough for the entire time specified, and the cookies came out just fine.

img_2235

These cookies were great!  They lived up to their name- they were very soft and chewy.  The chocolate and ginger flavors had a great balance and made for a very festive cookie.  These would be great for a cookie exchange, a Christmas party, or any occasion really :)  I’m also submitting these to the Eat Christmas Cookies event hosted by Susan at Food Blogga.  I can’t wait to see the final round up of all the beautiful Christmas cookies!  I hope that the last few days of Christmas go smoothly and that you get all you baking and shopping done on time🙂

food-blogga-cookie-logo

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

1 ½ cups plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1 ¼ teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

¼ teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

1 tablespoon unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

¼ pound (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 tablespoon freshly grated peeled ginger

½ cup packed dark brown sugar

½ cup unsulfured molasses

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 ½ teaspoons boiling water

7 ounces best-quality semisweet chocolate, cut into ¼-inch chunks

¼ cup granulated sugar

1.    Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

2.    In a bowl, sift together flour, ground ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and cocoa.  In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat butter and fresh ginger on medium speed until lightened about 4 minutes.  Add brown sugar; beat until combined.  Add molasses; beat until combined.

3.    In a small bowl, dissolve baking soda in boiling water.  Beat half of four mixture into butter mixture.  Beat in baking soda mixture, then remaining half of flour mixture.  Mix in chocolate; turn onto plastic wrap.  Pat out to a 1-inch thickness; seal with wrap.  Refrigerate until firm, 2 hours or overnight.

4.    Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Roll dough into 1 ½-inch balls; place 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheets.  Chill 20 minutes.  Roll in granulated sugar.  Bake until surfaces just begin to crack, 10 to 12 minutes, rotating halfway through.  Let cool 5 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely.  Cookies are best the day they are made, but can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 5 days.

YIELD: 2 dozen

SOURCE: Martha Stewart’s Cookies


9 Responses

  1. Your cookies look great!

    Isn’t that the greatest book? So far I’ve only gotten to make the Buttered Rum Meltaways, and the Gingerbread White Chocolate Bars. I’m going to keep my library copy as long as possible. Maybe I’ll get lucky and get the book for Christmas.

  2. Chocolate and ginger make great mates. Thanks for the cookies!

  3. These look like they would be a great alternative to my usual triple ginger cookie.

  4. I’ve heard raves of this cookie – looks great!

  5. These look good but I’m still wary of the chocolate + gingerbread combination!

  6. hmmm chocolate and ginger – i’ve been wanting to try it since seeing the chocolate gingerbread squares in dorie’s Baking. these look great, thanks for sharing the recipe

  7. […] posts, I knew I had to find the time.  After making the Chocolate Gingerbread Cake and the Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies, I have found that I really like the chocolate-gingerbread combination.  Dorie says that you must […]

  8. i just made these, and mine were very flat and thin. still chewy, and tasted great though. any thoughts on why they didn’t puff up like yours?

Leave a Reply

