• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Buttery Jam Cookies

img_2205

We made another cookie this week for Tuesdays with Dorie.  Heather of Randomosity and the Girl chose the Buttery Jam Cookies, which can be found on p.80 of Dorie’s book.  I must say that I was not thrilled with these.  I guess I was expecting them to be more like the Linzer Sables or thumbprint cookies, but I just found these somewhat lacking in flavor.  I think it must have been more me than anyone else, because everyone else who tried them seemed to like them.

I used strawberry jam.  Next time I would recommend using more jam because I thought the jam flavor was too subtle.  I think this cookie needed more flavor overall.  I think maybe some cinnamon or nutmeg would do the trick.  Mine also didn’t spread much and just look like blobs.  So even though I wasn’t crazy about them, I’m glad that I got to try them.  Thanks Heather for your pick.  Visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see how everyone else liked them!

15 Responses

  1. That’s sort of how I felt too. Not jammy enough, not spicy enough, not salty enough. Actually, it seems like there were a lot of people this week who thought they were kind of bland, based on the Problems and Questions thread on the TWD site.

  2. I agree that these didn’t have a whole lot of flavor. It was something about the texture and the consistency that made me really like these though. Better luck next week with the pudding!

  3. I used strawberry jam too, but I made them more like a thumbprint cookie and put the jam on the outside.

  4. I thought they were good with more jam spread on them, just to up the flavor. A bit too subtle, I agree.

  5. They look really good despite lacking flavor!

  6. Yes, this recipe definitely needs more jam. For having “jam” in the title, it was seriously lacking in jam flavour.

  7. These look and sound really good. But maybe from the comments they aren’t as good as they look.

  8. Yours look pretty much just like mine do. I thought the recipe was all right and they tasted good..but..with all the outstanding cookie recipes out there, I won’t make them again!

  9. Yeah, I think more jam may have been the answer. But I seem to be in the minority because everyone else really likes them!

    Now I have to go see about that Brownout Cake you made.

  10. I felt the same way about mine. Kinda bland… But yours look lovely!🙂

  11. I used strawberry jam as well but I made Jam thumbprints instead. Yours look delish and I want some right now with some milk!😉

  12. Erin, I am with you. I wish I had tried more jam.

  13. Kinda “meh”? Oh, well. On to the cheesecake!

  14. I agree, next time a bit more jam and goodies inside! Yours look good!

  15. sorry you didn’t like these so much; i enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

