• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Sugar Cookies

img_2225

I have been searching for a good sugar cookie recipe, so I was excited about trying Ulrike’s choice for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe.  My husband has an obsession for the sugar cookies from the Great American Cookie Company.  I must agree with him; they are the best sugar cookies I’ve ever had.  They are soft and chewy, and they have the perfect sugar cookie flavor.  I have yet to find a recipe that comes close.

img_2224

Even though these didn’t match our favorite sugar cookie, they were still good.  They are better suited for cut-out cookies.  The dough was very easy to work with and I didn’t have any trouble rolling it out and cutting it into shapes.  The cookies even held their shape while baking.  I was really excited to use the cookie cutters my sister gave me last year!  The flavor was great too- nice and buttery.We served these at our Christmas party over the weekend and they were a big hit!  They went pretty fast.  I will probably keep these as my go-to recipe for cut-outs, but I’m still working on finding the perfect sugar cookie!  Thanks Ulrike for a great pick- you can visit her blog for the recipe.  Be sure to check out the Tuesdays with Dorie blog- I know there are some beautiful sugar cookie creations out there!

img_2223

14 Responses

  1. Great looking cookies!

  2. We really enjoyed these too.

  3. Im glad you liked the cookies. I thought they were good. Sugar cookies and Christmas, what is better then that!

  4. glad you liked these! they look yummy. i’ll definitely be making these again🙂

  5. what lovely Christmas cookies!

  6. Your cookies are so perfectly shaped. I liked this dough as well, but found it so soft that I had to toss it back in the fridge to chill repeatedly.

  7. They look great, love the cookie cutters!!

  8. You’ve got me itching to make sugar cookies now!

  9. You have a point – I think the buttery flavor came out above the vanilla flavor. I think a bit of tweaking could turn these into something a bit closer to what you’re looking for. They look great though!

  10. Love the cutters you used! Super cute cookies!

  11. Of course they were a hit! They look absolutely fantastic!

  12. Yeah, you know I did the slice and bake route – next time I’ll try the cut outs.

    But I need to take a closer look at the chocolate gingerbread cake you posted – that is a terrific combination!

  13. Erin, your cookies look perfect. I love the trees and angels the best. Congrats on your 1 year darling! Whoo hoo!🙂 I am going to post my sugar cookies tomorrow morning . . been MIA for awhile because of Costa Rica. Good job!

Leave a Reply

