• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Whole Wheat Dinner Bread

img_2047

Bread is one of those side items that seems to make an appearance at pretty much any dinner.  Most of the time it’s not very memorable.  That’s why I was pleasantly surprised when we were at a dinner party not too long ago and the bread that the hosts served with the (already fabulous) dinner was so good.  I usually pass on the bread because I’d rather save the stomach space and calories for something I really like, but I totally got into eating this bread.  David loved it too and ate several pieces, and he almost never eats whole wheat bread.

img_2048

I was talking to the host the next week and told him again how much we appreciated the dinner and how good it was, especially the bread.  He knew I loved to bake and asked if I wanted the recipe.  I said that I would definitely love to make it, and next time we saw each other he gave me the recipe and a bag of the Harvest Grains Blend that goes in the dough.

I was so excited to finally get the chance to make this bread.  It was very easy to make and can be made in the afternoon and ready for dinner.  It makes two loaves and it freezes easily.  This is the best, most tender, flavorful bread I’ve made; basically everything you look for in a dinner bread.  I served this for the first time with stuffed shells, but it goes with pretty much any dinner.  This would even be a great addition to your Thanksgiving feast!  I will be making this again and again!

img_2050

Whole Wheat Dinner Bread

1 2/3 cup warm water

2 teaspoons yeast

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons powdered milk

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons butter, softened

¾ cup harvest grain mix

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

¼ cup gluten

2 or more cups unbleached bread flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add honey, softened butter, powdered milk, harvest grain mix, and gluten, and mix well.  Add whole wheat flour and mix well.  Add salt and enough bread flour until you have a dough that leaves the side of the bowl but is still moist and sticky.  Turn out on floured board and knead until smooth and elastic, adding more flour as needed (minimum 10 minutes- this can also be done using a stand mixer with a dough hook).

Place in greased bowl and turn over so that greased side is on top.  Cover with damp cloth and let rise until doubled in size (1 to 1 ½ hours).  Punch down and let rest 1 minute.  Turn out on floured surface.  Divide dough in half and shape into logs by rolling gently from the center out to desired size.

Brush the top with egg wash and top with more harvest grain mix.  Let rise again, about 1 to 1 ½ hours.

Bake at 375 degrees until loaves are browned and sound hollow when lightly tapped, about 35 to 40 minutes.

Source: Our friends Robbie & Kevin

4 Responses

  1. WOW! That bread is impressive! It looks wonderful!

  2. I’m a bread lover – it’s dangerous, because I could eat just bread and butter for dinner! This sounds delicious, and even a little nutritious!

  3. Ooh I love all the extras you put on the top here – looks like an everything bagel!

  4. Your bread looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

