• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach

img_2057

I was pretty excited when I saw that Piggy of Piggy’s Cooking Journal chose the Rugelach for this week.  These stood out to me in the book because of how unique they looked.  I honestly have not had Rugelach before, so I don’t know how these compare to other recipes, but I was happy with how these turned out.  I made the dough one evening and the next night I prepared the filling and finished the baking.  The dough for these was very easy to put together, and you don’t even have to remember to leave the butter and cream cheese out ahead of time.  The dough came together quite nicely in the food processor and was very easy to roll out the next day.

img_2058

Dorie had a suggestion for the filling, but said that every baker should try to come up with a unique combination of their own.  I decided to do a sweet combination.  I made a powdered sugar glaze and lighly spread it over the dough, then sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar.  Then I lightly covered it with raisins and mini chocolate chips.  I found the baking time to be a bit off (a common issue I’ve found with Dorie’s recipes), but I baked them for an extra five minutes or so and they were perfect.  I really liked the flaky, crispy-but-light crust, and they had a great flavor.  I’m happy with my choice of fillings, and I will definitely try Rugelach again with different fillings to see how they turn out.  Dorie even suggests savory fillings, which I’m interested in.  The small shape of these makes them perfect for holiday party.  You should keep these in mind when planning a party this season!  For the recipe, you can visit Piggy’s blog and take a look at the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see all the Rugelach creations!

15 Responses

  1. I agree – the dough part was fabulous, light and crispy. Love the filling idea, and yours turned out quite nicely.

  2. Hey our rugelach experience sounds similar. I too made my dough the night before and did the rest the next day. I was very pleased with the way the dough turned out. I really liked this recipe. I found the cooking time to be off as well. I cooked mine for about 5 to 8 extra minutes. Your rugelach looks great!

  3. Looks great.

    I love your filling combo.

  4. looks yummy! I can’t wait to finish mine.

  5. Now you’ve got me thinking about the savory fillings – any ideas?

  6. I’m glad that you like the recipe, the rugelach is yummy indeed. Thanks for baking with me, Erin!🙂

  7. Yours look great! I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  8. perfect crescents!🙂 your filling idea sounds delicious.

  9. I like your filling idea. Get on with your creative self!😉

  10. I’ll have to try these. They look great!

  11. I loved these cookies and was glad to make them! They will become a regular here!

  12. That’s funny about the baking time — this was one of the first Dorie recipes where my baking time was exactly the same as hers!

  13. I am definitely thinking that I need to try this recipe again with some savory combinations! Your rugelach turned out so perfect. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  14. I agree–I think this dough would be great with some savory fillings. Bacon and feta would be awesome, I think. Yours look great!

  15. They look delicious! I love the filling you came up with.

Leave a Reply

