• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Lemon Squares Revisited

This was another dessert that I made for the dinner at my church- another winner from Martha Stewart!  Apparently there are a lot of lemon lovers there because these were gone very fast.  I got more comments about these than any other dessert I made.  Next time I’ll be sure to make a double batch!  I made these at David’s suggestion, because he loves lemon desserts and says that I don’t make them enough.  I made lemon squares before, using a recipe from Cook’s Illustrated.  It’s been so long since I made them that I honestly don’t know how they compare, although it seems like these set up better.  These had a great lemon flavor and a nice firm crust that held together well.  I thought the lemon flavor was right on- not too lemony, and just the right amount of sugar to balance it out.  If you like lemon squares, you should definitely try this recipe!

Lemon Squares

For the crust:

¾ cup (1 ½ sticks) unsalted butter, frozen, plus more for dish

1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup confectioners’ sugar

¾ teaspoon coarse salt

For the filling:

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

1 1/3 cups granulated sugar

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon coarse salt

¾ cup fresh lemon juice

¼ cup whole milk

Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

1.    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a 9 by 13-inch glass baking dish, and line with parchment.

2.    Make crust: Grate butter on a cheese grater with large holes; set aside.  Whisk together flour, confectioners’ sugar, and salt in a large bowl.  Add butter; stir with a wooden spoon until combined and mixture looks crumbly.

3.    Transfer mixture to prepared dish; press evenly onto bottom with your hands.  Freeze crust 15 minutes.  Bake until slightly golden, 16 to 18 minutes.  Leave oven on.

4.    Meanwhile, make filling: Whisk together eggs, granulated sugar, flour, and salt in a bowl until smooth.  Stir in lemon juice and milk.  Pour over hot crust.

5.    Reduce oven temperature to 325 degrees, and bake until filling is set and edges are slightly golden brown, about 18 minutes.  Let cool slightly on a wire rack.  Lift out; let cool completely on a wire rack before cutting into 2-inch squares.  Dust with confectioners’ sugar.  Lemon squares can be refrigerated in airtight containers up to 2 days.

YIELD: about 2 dozen

SOURCE: Martha Stewart’s Cookies


3 Responses

  1. My husband loves lemon, and I have a really good recipe from Nick Malgieri that I’ve been using for years, so I’d like to make these side by side and have a flavor comparison.

    They look nice and puckery-sweet!

  2. I love lemon squares, these look fantastic!

  3. These are my very favorite bar cookie. I’ll have to use your recipe next time I make them.

Leave a Reply

