• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes

I don’t think anyone was surprised that Clara of I Heart Food4Thought chose the Chocolate-Chocolate Cupcakes this week.  I actually made these over a month ago for my mentor teacher’s birthday, so I didn’t get a chance to decorate them for Halloween like Clara suggested.  So that’s why mine look like birthday cupcakes when most other TWD-ers probably have them decorated in orange and black.

There was quite the discussion on the TWD blog about these cupcakes.  Most people complained about them being dry.  One thing you can do to prevent dry baked goods is to use the weighted system for measuring ingredients.  This will ensure the most accurate amounts of the main ingredients such as flour and sugar.  I also think that the baking time may be a bit off and it would help to take these out a minute or two sooner than the recipe calls for.  I didn’t find mine to by that dry, but definitely not as moist as most cupcakes I’ve had.  Next time I would definitely watch the baking time, and I want to try some fillings- I already have chocolate ganache, caramel, and peanut butter in mind :)  The ganache frosting was also different from the traditional cupcake.  Although it was good, I prefer a traditional chocolate frosting.  I can’t complain too much, though, because the eighth grade teachers and the administrators loved these and polished them all off (I doubled the recipe).  I even got a request for the recipe.  Thanks Clara for choosing this!  I think we all learned a lot.  There will certainly be some creative variations out there, so be sure to look at the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see them all!

18 Responses

  1. Your cupcakes look delicious!

  2. Hmm, I measured by weight and took them out of the oven a few minutes early, and they were still dry and coarse.

    But, yours look beautiful! Gotta love sprinkles on top of cupcakes.

  3. Cute sprinkles! Thanks for the tip about using weighted measurements, I’ve never thought to do that.

  4. They look great.

  5. great job on the cupcakes! the b-day sprinkles are cute:) i use weight to measure my ingredients too.

  6. I agree, weighing them makes a huge difference! They look fantastic!

  7. Very pretty – sprinkles make everything better!

  8. I bet these were great for your mentor teacher’s birthday! Love the rainbow sprinkles. Thanks for baking with me!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  9. Nice! I’m glad you had an occasion to bake these for, because they look wonderful.

  10. nothing beats the classic looking cupcake! they are beautiful!

  11. Perfect for a birthday party! Love the sprinkles!

  12. The inside of that cupcake looks so moist and yummy! I love the rainbow sprinkles. Too cute. Happy Halloween!

  13. Nice looking cupcakes…hey go to my blog I left you an award! Have fun!

  14. Great job! Your cupcakes and the sprinkles are wonderful!

  15. love the colorful sprinkles!

  16. Beautiful cupcakes. The multi-colored sprinkles really jazz them up. I used my kitchen scale, too.

  17. They look great- I’m glad everyone liked them. Thanks for the tips about preventing dry-out. I’m going to write some on my recipe for next time!

  18. They look beautiful, well done!🙂

Leave a Reply

