• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Pumpkin Bars

I was asked to bake the desserts for the Stewardship Dinner at my church.  They told me to expect about 80-100 people and that I could bake whatever I wanted.  I knew it would be a lot of work, but I was looking forward to it and I was very flattered that they thought enough of my baking skills to ask me to do this and to trust me with such a big task.  I decided to bake a variety of desserts so there would be a little bit of everything.  After much thought I decided on:

Pumpkin Bars

Lemon Squares

Chocolate Sheet Cake

New York Style Cheesecake

Oreo Cheesecake

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Over the next couple weeks, I’m going to feature these desserts on my blog, since they all turned out well and I can’t wait to share them!  First on my list is the pumpkin bars.  I thought it was more cake-like, very similar to carrot cake.  I had been wanting to make these ever since I saw Paula Deen make them on her show last year, and I decided that this would be a great opportunity to try them.  These were incredibly moist and had a great flavor.  I thought about adding pumpkin pie spice, but decided against it.  Next time I think I’ll go ahead and try it since the pumpkin flavor was pretty subtle.  The cream cheese frosting was, as usual, a great addition!  This is a great fall dessert and would be a great dessert to serve at a party or to follow a nice meal of fall comfort food.  These went over really well at the dinner and people seemed to really enjoy them.  The dinner was a chili bar.  There were several big pots of chili with choices of toppings, salad, and cornbread.  I thought these were a great way to end the meal!

Pumpkin Bars

Bars:

4 eggs

1 2/3 cups granulated sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin

2 cups sifted all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Icing:

8-ounce package cream cheese, softened

½ cup butter, softened

2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Using an electric mixer at medium speed, combine the eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until light and fluffy. Stir together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and mix at low speed until thoroughly combined and the batter is smooth. Spread the batter into a greased 13 by 10-inch baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting. Cut into bars.

To make the icing: Combine the cream cheese and butter in a medium bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the sugar and mix at low speed until combined. Stir in the vanilla and mix again. Spread on cooled pumpkin bars.

Source: Paula Deen

8 Responses

  1. MMM, those look so moist, I just want to swipe my finger into that icing and try a taste!
    Thanks for the great recipe! I love pumpkin and this is the perfect season to start some baking with it.

  2. Yum! I have this recipe from Paula Deen and can attest it is amazing!

  3. Wow! These pumpkin bars look delicious and I can’t wait to read about the rest of your creations! I’m sure everyone at your church appreciated the yummy desserts!

  4. Those look delicious! I want to lick the icing off the screen of my laptop!

  5. Oh my word, these look amazingly good!!

  6. Ooooh – pumpkin bars! I made these (or a similar recipe) a few weeks ago, and I love them!

  7. everything is good w/cream cheese frosting🙂 mmmmm
    have you ever tried a honey frosting? i have martha’s spice cake w/honey frosting in my blog….

  8. These look awesome–so moist and ooey-gooey on top! I love pumpkin bread and pumpkin cake so this’ll have to go in my recipe folder.

Leave a Reply

