• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Easy Cheesy Beer Bread

I’ve seen this bread on several blogs lately, and I understand why.  It is absolutely fabulous!  I made chili the other night and decided to try this as a side.  I think David and I ended up eating more of this bread than chili!  I usually think of cornbread as the perfect match for chili, but I’ve changed my mind after trying this.  It was nice to have a quick bread that was so easy to make, but the texture was different from many of the quick breads I’ve tried.  The crust was amazing- perfectly chewy and buttery, thanks to the addition of melted butter on top.  The flavor was delicious.  I loved the combination of beer and cheese.  David kept this by his desk so snack on as he’s been working on school stuff all afternoon and night.  It’s great alone or even with a bit of butter, and is also good toasted.  This is definitely a bread I will be making again and again!

Easy Cheesy Beer Bread

Ingredients:
2 c. all purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
1/3 c. packed brown sugar
4 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1 c. shredded sharp cheddar
12 oz. bottle of lager or stout
2 Tbsp butter, melted

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare loaf pan for baking.
-In large bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, salt, and garlic powder.
-Whisk to combine well.
-Add cheese and whisk to combine.
-Slowly add beer to dry ingredients and stir lightly until combined.
-Knead dough lightly until it just comes together.
-Place into prepared loaf pan and pour melted butter over top.
-Place in oven to bake for 55-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center of loaf comes out clean.

Source: Good Things Catered

8 Responses

  1. I keep meaning to make this! Maybe this weekend…

  2. Aww! I’m so glad you liked it! It’s a fave in our house. And omgosh! Your slices are SOOO cleanly cut. Just reminds me of how much my knives suck! lol.🙂

  3. Beer bread sounds great -it looks beautiful!

  4. Looks delish!!

  5. i love beer bread. perfect w/chili. your loaves look wonderful

  6. I’d like to make this bread soon. What do you mean by “prepare loaf pan for baking” ???

  7. […] Most people like to eat their tomato soup with grilled cheese, myself included, but since I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for Easy Cheesy Beer Bread  […]

  8. […] October: Gingerbread White Chocolate Blondies Apple Cake with Caramel Sauce Cheesy Beer Bread […]

Leave a Reply

