• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Gingerbread White Chocolate Blondies

I was in the mood for something with fall-like spices.  I had also finally gotten my hands on a copy of Martha Stewart’s Cookies and these Gingerbread White Chocolate Blondies looked like the perfect way to get my fix.  I made these for our dinner group and they went over really well.  It was a nice twist on a basic blondie recipe, and it’s hard to beat the simplicity of these.  I’m also a big fan of white chocolate, and it complemented the ginger taste very well.  I’ve said before that I’m not a huge fan of non-chocolate desserts, but I kept finding myself reaching for the leftovers quite often over the next few days.  My gingerbread-loving friends thought they were a big hit too.  This recipe makes quite a bit, so if you’re not baking for a bunch of people it would probably be a good idea to make half of the recipe.  I baked these in an 11×17-inch jellyroll pan for 25 minutes, and they came out perfectly done.  I think that if you’re not sure about doneness, it would be best to err on the side of caution and take them out of the oven a minute or two early, because you want them to be on the soft side.  I would definitely make these again- they’re a great treat  for fall and would be great to serve if you’re having people over to watch a good football game!

Gingerbread White Chocolate Blondies

2 ¾ cups plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1 ¼ teaspoons baking soda

1 ¼ teaspoons salt

1 ¼ teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

1 ¼ cups (2 ½ sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 ¼ cups packed light brown sugar

½ cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 large eggs plus 1 egg yolk

1 ¼ teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1/3 cup unsulfured molasses

1 ¾ cups coarsely chopped best-quality white chocolate (10 ounces)

Nonstick vegetable oil spray

1.    Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat a 12 by 17-inch rimmed baking sheet with nonstick spray and line the bottom with parchment paper.  Spray the parchment and set aside.

2.    Whisk together flour, soda, salt, and spices in a bowl.

3.    In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and sugars on medium-high speed until creamy and pale, about 3 minutes.  Add eggs and yolk one at a time, scraping down sides of bowl as needed.  Add vanilla and molasses and mix on medium speed until combined.  Add flour mixture on low speed until combined.  Stir in white chocolate.

4.    Spread batter evenly into prepared pan and bake until golden on edges, about 25 minutes.  Let cool completely in pan; cut into 2-inch squares.  Blondies can be stored in airtight containers at room temperature up to 1 week.

Makes 4 dozen (although I cut them much larger, haha)

From Martha Stewart’s Cookies: The Very Best Treats to Bake and Share

12 Responses

  1. Wow! These look great. I have this book and want to try these!!

  2. I love love love gingerbread – but hate white chocolate, so I’ll make these and use regular chocolate instead. They look so delicious – my tummy is grumbling just thinking about them!!

  3. Ooo these look good! I love the combination of white chocolate and gingerbread. I have 2 of Martha’s cookie magazines so I didn’t buy the cookbook (since it has mostly the same recipes) but this is one of the ones the magazines don’t have! Thanks for sharing.

  4. This combination sounds really good!

  5. I have been wanting this cookbook, hopefully for Christmas I get it!

  6. Yum gingerbread and white chocolate..how could you go wrong! Enjoy your new cookbook. I have not seen it yet but it sounds wonderful!

  7. What a great seasonal variation on blondies! I can’t wait to make these!

  8. Oooh yum! These look great!

  9. Oh my goodness! I MUST make thie RIGHT AWAY! The look and sound fantastic!!

  10. Me again! I just made these and posted them – delicious!

  11. These look fantastic! Do you think they would work as cookies instead of bars?

  12. […] White Chocolate Blondiesslightly adapted from Dinner & DessertMakes about 24 bars (depending on how you cut […]

Leave a Reply

