• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Lenox Almond Biscotti

Gretchen of Canela & Comino chose the Lenox Almond Biscotti for this week’s Tuesdays with Dorie.  I had never made biscotti before, so I was excited about trying it.  I decided to add some fall-like spices to my version.  I added a teaspoon each cinnamon and ginger.  I almost added some pumpkin pie spice, but decided against it.  I was surprised at how wet the dough was when I first shaped it.  When I baked it for the second time, it took much longer than what Dorie called for to get the biscotti to the right texture.  I think I baked it for around double the recommended baking time.  I’m not really sure what happened there, but it all came out okay in the end.

I liked this biscotti.  It had a nice flavor and was a great fall cookie.  My mother-in-law is a big fan of biscotti and I gave these to her since there’s no way I would eat them all myself.  She said that they were great with tea in the evenings.  Biscotti would be a great gift for Christmas.  I’m planning to make several batches this Christmas for people, and I’ll definitely be trying more of Dorie’s versions!  Thanks for a great pick Gretchen!  Check out our Tuesdays with Dorie blog for more biscotti!

**Sorry about the crappy pictures this week- I could not get a good picture no matter how hard I tried!

19 Responses

  1. that’s a great idea to make these as gifts, especially since they keep so well! thanks for the idea – and your biscotti look wonderful!

  2. Love the spice additions! I have a few fall biscotti I will be making this week. YUMM!🙂

  3. Oooh… good idea to make these for Christmas! Yours look really yummy!

  4. Ahhh – you’re the second blog I’ve come across that made the spice version – now I really want to make them!!

  5. I’m a first time biscotti maker too! I love your ideas for fall spices, can’t wait to try some more variations.

  6. Cinnamon and ginger sound wonderfully fall-like. Very nice.

  7. Oh the spice version of cinnamon and ginger sound wonderful great job!

  8. Great job on these! Biscotti is such a Christmas-y type gift. Hope you find some other great recipes to try out between now & then!

  9. I like the idea of a cinnamon/ginger biscotti. Yum!

  10. These look great… a super gift!

  11. That looks pretty darn good and I don’t even like biscotti.🙂 Me love cinnamon. Good job!

  12. Hard to photograph biscotti! The fall spices sound great. I love that you can change this recipe up so many ways.

  13. These will make perfect christmas gifts! I know, I had a hard time photographing these as well! Yours look fantastic!

  14. Looks great!

  15. I want to make these for friends for Christmas too!

  16. These will make wonderful gifts!

  17. I’m with you, I’m making some for Christmas! This recipe took me out of my comfort zone as well as removing me from the “I don’t like Biscotti” club.😉

  18. great idea to add the fall spices!

  19. I really liked spices in these. I bet pumpkin pie spice would be a really good addition. I agree with your MIL–they’re great with tea.

Leave a Reply

