• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Lemon Cake with Raspberry Buttercream (for the Boobie Bake Off)


As soon as I heard about the Boobie Bake Off on Baking Delights, I knew I had to participate.  What a fun event, and definitely for a great cause.  I was thinking about what to make, and as I was flipping through my copy of the Sweet Melissa Baking Book, a recipe for raspberry buttercream caught my eye.  The recipe was actually for a Hazelnut Raspberry Layer Cake, but I decided to just use the buttercream recipe and use Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake as the base.  Dorie’s cake appealed to me more than the hazelnut cake, and I thought that the lemon in the Perfect Party Cake would go nicely with the raspberry buttercream.

I loved this buttercream!  It wasn’t as sweet as I thought it would be, but it was amazing with the cake.  This was a great dessert because it wasn’t too heavy.  I love the way it paired so well with the raspberry preserves.  Dorie’s cake never fails to impress.  It’s the perfect cake to play around with.  There are so many other possibilities (especially after seeing what all the Daring Bakers did with it back in March) that I know I will be making this cake again and again.  Melissa Murphy’s book is also a winner.  Every recipe I’ve tried so far has been wonderful, and she is becoming like another Dorie to me.

I’m glad I heard about this event.  My husband’s grandmother died of breast cancer in 1982, a few years before he was born, so he never knew her.  Through the years we’ve been together, I’ve heard so many stories about what a great lady she was and how she loved to entertain and be around people.  I’m sure that I would have gotten along really well with her if we had been able to know each other.  I think it’s great that there have been so many medical advances in recent years to treat breast cancer.  Perhaps if it had not been 1982 the outcome may have been different.  We can only hope that someday there will be a cure for all types of cancer.

I linked to my Daring Bakers post with the Perfect Party Cake recipe, but here’s the raspberry buttercream- you have to try it!

Raspberry Buttercream (Source: The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy)

1 cup loosely packed fresh raspberries (I used frozen and it worked fine)

2 tablespoons raspberry liqueur

2/3 cup plus 3 tablespoons sugar

¼ cup water

3 large egg whites, at room temperature

¾ pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 1/3 cups seedless raspberry preserves, for filling

2 cups fresh raspberries, for garnish

1.       In a small bowl, combine the fresh raspberries with the raspberry liqueur.

2.       In a small heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium-high heat, combine the 2/3 cup of sugar and the water and cook to 240 degrees on a candy thermometer, about 7 minutes.

3.       Meanwhile, in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whip attachment, beat the egg whites on high speed until they hold soft peaks.  Slowly add the 3 tablespoons sugar and beat until there are medium stiff – but not dry – peaks of meringue.

4.       When the sugar syrup reaches 240 degrees, decrease the speed of the mixer to medium, and immediately but slowly pour the hot liquid sugar in a steady stream down the side of the bowl and into the meringue.  (Or, if the syrup is not yet 240 degrees when the meringue is ready, turn off the mixer until it is.  Then turn on the mixer to medium and add the syrup).  Beat together until stiff glossy peaks form.

5.       With the mixer on medium speed, add the butter in pieces to the meringue.  The mixture will break, but just keep beating and it will come together beautifully.

6.       Pour the raspberries and the raspberry liquid into the buttercream and beat on medium-high speed until combined.

If using the buttercream immediately, set aside at room temperature.  If not, refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.  If the buttercream has been chilled, let it reach room temperature before beating it in the electric mixer.  The buttercream will break, but then it will come together beautifully.

14 Responses

  1. Awesome! Thanks for participating!!

  2. OMG that cake is amazing! Really fantastic job!!!

  3. I want some of that buttercream! Great entry for a great event!

  4. Good luck. I hope you win. Your cake looks AMAZING!!!

  5. Wonderful looking pink cake. My mom battled with breast cancer 8 years ago. She is doing well and cancer free. I am excited for this event. I hope you win!

  6. This is gorgeous! What a great cause as well!

  7. What a beautiful cake and a wonderful cause. My mom just got finished walking the Susan Komen 5K this morning.🙂

  8. Oh how I love white cake with buttercream frosting. This looks so wonderful.

  9. It looks great! I attempted a raspberry buttercream a few months ago. It was decent, but I sort of half-assed it anyway. Next time I’ll use this recipe instead.

  10. Delicious! I love that cake, it is so light and yummy. I love your pink frosting!

  11. […] (2)Erin made Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake in Lemon with Raspberry Buttercream…fantastic! […]

  12. […] made it for a third time in October, and paired it with raspberry buttercream.  I love Dorie’s buttercream frosting […]

  13. […] similar Swiss buttercreams before (in Dorie’s famous Perfect Party Cake and again with this raspberry buttercream).  The thought of coffee-flavored Swiss buttercream sounded really good to […]

  14. […] (2)Erin made Dorie’s Perfect Party Cake in Lemon with Raspberry Buttercream…fantastic! […]

Leave a Reply

