• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Cookies and Cream Cake

This was another great cake I got from Annie’s blog.  I knew I had to make it when she posted it!  I am a big fan of Oreos, so I knew I would love it.  This was the perfect dessert to enjoy after a rough couple of days.  The chocolate cake was just fabulous.  It was one of the lightest, fluffiest, moistest cakes I’ve ever made.  The whipped cream filling was amazing!  It made enough to fill the layers and top the cake generously, so you could really taste it.  Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Frosting was also a welcome additon.  This is seriously great frosting.  I have to call it my favorite chocolate frosting.  I made it for my birthday cupcakes this past January, but had forgotten how much I liked it.  I will have to remember it as my go-to chocolate frosting from now on!  All of these components made for a great cake.  David’s first reaction when he took a bite was that it reminded him of Dirt Cake- you know, the concoction you probably had as a child with Oreos, whipped cream, and gummy worms :)  I would say that this is a multi-generation crowd pleaser and that it would go over well with adults and kids alike.  This is one of my favorite cakes that I’ve made.

Cookies and Cream Cake

Ingredients:

For the cake:

2 cups sugar

1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup cocoa powder

1 ½ tsp. baking powder

1 ½ tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 cup milk

½ cup vegetable oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup boiling water

For the filling:

1 ¼ cups heavy cream

1/8 cup confectioners’ sugar

¼ tsp. pure vanilla extract

10 chocolate sandwich cookies,  chopped

For the frosting:

½ cup unsalted butter

2/3 cup cocoa powder

3 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/3 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

To make the cake, preheat the oven to 350°.  Grease and flour two 9-inch round baking pans.

Stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.  Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla; beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.  Stir in boiling water (batter will be thin).  Pour batter into prepared pans.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks.  Cool completely.

To make the filling, in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, combine the heavy cream, confectioners’ sugar and vanilla.  Beat on low speed until all sugar is incorporated; increase speed to high and whisk until stiff peaks form.  Gently fold in chopped cookie pieces with a rubber spatula.

To make the frosting, melt the butter in a medium bowl.  Stir in the cocoa.  Alternately add confectioners’ sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency.  Add small amount additional milk, if needed.  Stir in vanilla.

To assemble the cake, place one cake layer on a cardboard cake circle.  Pipe a ring of the chocolate frosting around the outside edge of the cake.  Fill the area inside the ring of frosting with a thick layer of the cookies and cream mixture.  Place the second cake layer on top.  Frost the sides of the cake layers with chocolate frosting.  Pipe a decorative border of the chocolate frosting on top of the cake.  Fill the area inside this border with a thick layer of the cookies and cream mixture.  Garnish with extra chocolate sandwich cookies and whipped cream if desired.

11 Responses

  1. Oh wow, that looks heavenly. It’s right up my alley… I am salivating. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. I want to make this cake, and then marry it. It looks delicious.

  3. Sounds great. The picture from the side of the cake shows the texture really well. It looks perfectly fluffy, rich, and moist.

  4. Hey I awarded you the E for Excellent award, check out my blog for details =)

  5. What a lovely decadent dessert! Who could resist eating such a beautiful, moist cake. I’ll have to bake it for my Oreo loving family.

  6. Oh my..Im loving this cake..nothing better than oreos..my kids will love this..yum!

  7. wow!!! please pass me a slice….

  8. Yay! I am so glad it was a hit. We loved this one.

  9. Wow- that cake looks beautiful and sounds so delicious! Great job!

  10. I just made this cake for my daughter’s 17th birthday. It was a huge success! Delicious in every sense of the word! I have already gotten requests to make another.
    Thank you!

  11. This looks like the worlds coolest cake i can’t wait to make it.

Leave a Reply

