• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Dimply Plum Cake

I must admit, I had my doubts when I found out that Michelle of Bake-en chose the Dimply Plum Cake for this week.  I really wasn’t sure if I would like it, but I decided to try it anyway.  I am glad I made it, because it was very good.  It was very sweet, and is really more like a morning coffee cake than a cake you would eat for dessert.  I really like plums, but rarely think to eat them, so it was nice to try them in this cake.  I used eight plums and it fit nicely in the 8×8-inch pan that I used.  I thought it was a very pretty cake, and made for a nice treat to enjoy this time of year.

The only problem I had was that it was slightly underdone under the plums, but other than that it was perfect.  Steph said on her blog that she put the individual slices under the broiler and that did the trick, so I would try that next time.  This was a sweet cake, but it wasn’t overly sweet.  It really is best the day it’s made or the day after, because it starts to get really dry.  It’s very easy to make, though, so you can definitely put it together quickly!  Thanks to Michelle for this week’s pick and you can see other plum cakes and variations by visiting the Tuesdays with Dorie blog.

17 Responses

  1. yup, this recipe was a most pleasant surprise for me also. I love the way your cake turned out with the square springform pan – the plums look great all lined up like that. I’m impressed that they all fit. Yum, great pictures!

  2. Your cake looks really great! I love all the sunken plums.

  3. I thought it was a very pretty cake too! Glad you liked it!

  4. I had the same doughy trouble – I just love all the subtle little bits of color from the plums in the top photo!

  5. Too cute – I love the little army of plum halves, all sunken into the cake.

  6. Yum, yours looks lovely! I love that your plums were a nice pink color. I used prune plums, and they kind of stayed an ugly brown. 🙂

  7. Beautiful cake… simple yet very appealing pictures!
    I do have to agree… it doesn’t keep fresh for long, though.
    Great job…

  8. Love that you can see all the great lemon zest in your first picture. I love lemon zest! My dimply cake got more moist on the 2nd day but I’ll take your word for the dryness on the 3rd day b/c we had none left!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  9. Mmm, this looks wonderful! I absolutely loved this cake…my favorite TWD so far!!

  10. Shoot, aren’t we fancy? That cake looks AMAZING. Looks like Dorie’s cake from the book. Nice job my friend!🙂

  11. Your cake looks beautiful and delicious! Love the pic with the lemon zest showing!

  12. Nice looking cake! I made this one awhile ago and really liked it. I need to try it with other fruits now.

  13. looks yummy, and i love the flecks of zest! yours looks much more cooked thru than mine!

  14. I was skeptical about this selection too but really liked it. I love your photos – the cake looks great!

  15. I wasn’t going to try it, but I’m glad I did. I didn’t love it either, but it was a nice breakfast/coffee cake. And yours looks much prettier than mine.

  16. Your cake looks perfect- nice and “dimply”!🙂 Great job!

  17. Beautiful cake and with all the recent posts, I’m craving a slice… a la mode🙂

Leave a Reply

