• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Chocolate Chunkers

We have another cookie this week for Tuesdays with Dorie!  Claudia of Fool for Food has chosen the Chocolate Chunkers, found on page 70.  Dorie describes them as very chocolaty, and I definitely agree!  These cookies contain bittersweet chocolate, semisweet chocolate, unsweetened chocolate, and milk or white chocolate.  With so much chocolate, how can you go wrong?  I have to say that I like these just as much as last week’s Whopper Cookies, but they are different.  I found these cookies to be brownie-like, as they were more fluffy than chewy. Reading the Problems & Questions section on the blog this week was pretty entertaining.   I think we all agreed that while these cookies are amazing, they are not the prettiest dessert!

This is one of my favorite chocolate cookies, and I would definitely make them again.  The recipe is very adaptable for various mix-ins.  Dorie uses nuts (she suggests peanuts or pecans) and either white chocolate or milk chocolate chips, and also raisins.  I decided to just use a bunch of white chocolate chips since that’s what I was in the mood for when I made them.  I love the combination of white chocolate chips with a chocolate cookie.  It is also important to use good chocolate in these since the chocolate flavor is so dominant.  Thanks Claudia for a wonderful selection.  You have helped me find a great chocolate cookie to make again and again.  Next week we’ll be taking a break from the cookies (not that I really want or need one!) and will make a fall-ish treat, as Michelle of Bake-en has chosen the Dimply Plum Cake.  To see other Chocolate Chunkers out there, visit the Tuesdays with Dorie blog.


22 Responses

  1. if you love chocolate (and I never trust people who don’t!), this is THE cookie, for sure! i added espresso powder, which was great, if you like that flavor with chocolate.

  2. Mmmm, these sound great! I definitely love the addition of white chocolate chips in a chocolate cookie. I’ll have to make sure I try this one sometime.

  3. Your cookies look fabulous. I agree that these were brownie-like, and I really liked that. Brownies are my favorite. =)

  4. They look great!!!

  5. I love the texture of your cookies…completely different from mine. it’s funny that people are saying “brownie-like” and “fluffy” – mine were all chunk and no cookie! I wonder why?

  6. Oh yum! Your cookies turned out great!! I love all the chocolate!

  7. Oh yum these look great! I was lusting after this recipe but forgot about it so thanks for reminding me to make it soon!

  8. Your chunker pictures look yummy. I think its the white chocolate that makes me want to eat them. Yum!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  9. these are ohhhh so good! Yours look great

  10. Your Chunkers look delicious and your photography is fabulous.

  11. I love cookies AND brownies, I am not picky…your cookies look fab! And those brownies in the next post…umm YUM.

  12. …I’m tempted to lick the screen! Those chunkers look divinely soft and chewy!
    Great Job!

  13. Your cookies DO look pretty! I thought the white chocolate was delicious as well.

  14. I love how shiny and crackly yours look – I think I lost that when I refrigerated the dough😦

  15. Yours look very GOOD! Wowsers. I am glad you loved them too because I sure did. Great job my friend.

  16. All these cookies need is a nice glass of cold milk. I loved the serious chocolate hit.

  17. What beautiful pictures! I really enjoyed these, as did everyone who got the chance to sample a cookie. I’m adding these to the cookie trays at Christmas!

  18. I think your cookies are quite pretty. and very chocolate-y as well. These were yummy indeed.

  19. Your cookies look gorgeous in close-up! We loved them too.

  20. your cookies look slightly less chunky than mine..hmmm. i’m not sure why everyone said they look like poo – b/c mine didn’t and yours certainly don’t either!

  21. Your look like they have the perfect texture- they look great! Nice job!

  22. These were delicious! Yours turned out beautifully!

Leave a Reply

