• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Granola Grabbers

I was so excited when I saw that Michelle of Bad Girl Baking chose the Granola Grabbers for this week. I really wanted to make them right after I saw them in Dorie’s book. I think our entire group was excited to finally make a cookie because TWD hasn’t made a cookie since the first week, when Laurie started it all by making the Brown Sugar-Pecan Shortbread Cookies. Dorie describes these cookies as the perfect after school snack. This recipe really comes at the perfect time, as school is starting. In fact, as you are reading this, I am in my very own classroom as a first year teacher teaching language arts to eighth graders! So please, send good thoughts my way๐Ÿ™‚

I wanted to make my own granola. I made granola a few months ago (and have yet to post it), but I wanted to try a different version. Nancy reminded me of a Cooking Light granola recipe that I wanted to try. I remembered seeing the recipe for Maple-Pecan Granola in the June 2008 issue, and this was the perfect opportunity to make it. This was great granola, and it tasted amazing in the cookie. For all the health food associations granola has, it really isn’t diet-friendly at all, so it was nice to find a lower-calorie version that tasted as good. This recipe calls for 1/2 cup each salted peanuts and almonds, but instead I used 1 cup of butterscotch chips, since I like them in oatmeal cookies and these cookies were so similar. I added a little more coconut than the recipe called for as well. I thought these cookies were great. They had a nice flavor and I liked the crunchiness of the granola. I usually don’t like my cookies on the crunchy side, but in this cookie it was perfect. I would definitely make these again. I think it would be good to add in some cinnamon and/or craisins next time. Thanks Michelle for choosing such a great recipe and be sure to head over to the Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s cookies!

20 Responses

  1. Love the butterscotch chip idea! Good luck at school!!

  2. I make my own granola also, but this time I skipped it and used a cereal with pecan, date, and walnuts! These cookies were delish! Looking at all these cookies this morning is making me want another one! (but sadly mine are gone already)

  3. butterscotch chips! what an outstanding idea! i don’t think anyone else thought of that. i hope you have a great year – my oldest daughter is beginning her 3rd year as a 1st grade teacher so i have a special place in my heart for new teachers.

  4. Yikes – languages arts for 8th graders, they’re really throwing you in there! Those cookies sound fabulous though, especially with butterscotch chips.

  5. Hey – have a great first year.

    Would you send me a copy of your granola recipe? I need to make a version without nuts and that doesn’t contain 18 pounds of sugar!!

  6. I am going to go home and pull out my June issue of Cooking Light for the granola recipe. Love the addition of butterscotch chips! Good luck teaching and your cookies look delicious!

  7. oooOOOOooooooo butterscotch chips.

    That sounds like a wonderful addition.

  8. Those look soooo good…you had me at butterscotch chips! Good luck with teaching!

  9. I love me some butterscotch chips. Awesome addition. Congrats on your teaching position!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  10. Oh, these sound yummy. Butterscotch and peanuts โ€“ย yesssssss.

  11. Mmm your cookies look great! I’ve been looking closely through Dorie’s cookie recipes in that book recently and actually have the oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip cookies in my oven right now!๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to try these ones out.

  12. Oh and good luck with your school year.๐Ÿ™‚

  13. The butterscotch chips were a great add in. I’m sure that they were wonderful. I’ve seen that CL recipe for the granola. I think I’ll move it up in the “to try” file. Great pictures, by the way!

  14. I love the close up pics!

  15. maple granola….yum! your cookies look so crunchy and chunky!

  16. These cookies look great! Good luck with middle schoolers! You are brave.๐Ÿ™‚

  17. wow…yummm, your cookies look great!
    makes me want one right now..thankss =P
    great job!!โค

  18. Good luck with the teaching! Butterscotch chips sounds like an interesting addition for these. I hardly ever buy them because I find them too sweet for my taste. Except when I’m pregnant, lol. =) When I was about 8 months pregnant with my older daughter, I ate them by the handful and I don’t know how many bags I went through…

  19. I had my own class for the first time last year, and it was so nervewracking! I got a lot better within just a couple of months. Good luck!

  20. Hey, good luck in your teaching career! I like this cookie recipe too, it’s so yummy.๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

