• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Black Bottom Brownies

I was looking through my copy of the Sweet Melissa Baking Book, trying to decide what to make. My usual complaint about cookbooks when they don’t have enough pictures, but for some reason this book is different. With this book I have no problem drooling over the treats by picturing them in my head🙂 I love the way she describes the recipe and has a story behind it. I think this makes it more appealing, even if there is no picture.

One recipe that jumped out at me were the Black Bottom Brownies. One day I was in the mood for a really decadent brownie so I decided to make them. One thing that is different about the brownie recipe is that you have the addition of 2 egg yolks. This makes the brownie more dense and fudgy, which is perfect in my book. The cheesecake layer was great too, and went really well with the brownie. I loved the way the chocolate chips are added to the cheesecake layer, so you get some chocolate with that as well. These brownies were incredibly thick, so a little can go a long way, unless you are a total chocolate lover like me🙂 I liked these a lot better than the Cream Cheese Brownies I made a couple of months ago. The brownie base was a lot better with these and the cheesecake layer was much better too- I liked it being on top rather than swirled in the brownie. These brownies had a much fuller, richer flavor. This is now one of my favorite recipes. I made them a few weeks ago, and I’m already thinking about making some more! I would be a great dessert to serve at a dinner party or to just enjoy for yourself🙂

Black Bottom Brownies (Source: The Sweet Melissa Baking Book by Melissa Murphy)

For the brownie bottom:

6 ounces best-quality unsweetened chocolate

½ pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon kosher salt

4 large eggs plus 2 large egg yolks

2 cups sugar

1 tablespoon pure vanilla

For the cheesecake layer:

1 pound (two 8-ounce packages) cream cheese, at room temperature

1 ½ cups sugar

¼ teaspoon kosher salt

6 large eggs

1 ½ teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 cups (one 12-ounce package) semisweet (58%) chocolate chips

Before you start:

Position a rack in the center of your oven. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Lightly butter a 9×13-inch pan. Line the pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

To make the brownies:

1. In the top of a double boiler over simmering, not boiling water, melt the chocolate and the butter, stirring to combine. Set aside to cool to warm.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, egg yolks, sugar, and vanilla until smooth.

4. Pour the chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and combine with a whisk. Add the flour mixture to the chocolate/egg mixture and stir until just combined. Pour the brownie better into the prepared pan, and spread evenly.

To make the cheesecake layer:

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the cream cheese, sugar, and the salt until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add the eggs, 2 at a time, and mix well after each addition. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Stir in the vanilla.

To complete the brownies:

1. Pour the cheesecake mixture over the brownie layer. Sprinkle the chocolate chops evenly over the cheesecake layer.

2. Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until lightly golden. Remove to a wire rack to cool. Cool completely before slicing and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. May be served cold or at room temperature.

Store the brownies in a single layer in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 1 week. For longer storage, freeze in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks. Do not uncover before defrosting.

18 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness, those look so yummy!

  2. Oh my! Those look heavenly!!!

  3. Holy cow! Those are pretty incredible-looking. I’m drooling just looking at them.

  4. Mmm, I think I’ve found a recipe to use for my mom’s birthday dessert! This looks so great!!!

  5. i think a more appropriate name would be “fat bottom brownies,” because that’s surely what’d end up happening to me if these were at my disposal. they look spectacular.🙂

  6. Oh these look so fabulous! Since I just introduced myself to black bottom cupcakes, I think this is the next logical step😉 And I recently got the Sweet Melissa Baking book as well, but haven’t gotten a chance to go through it much yet. Yum!

  7. Uh oh… I think your brownies are trying to jump out of your blog and into my mouth! The shots are awesome!

  8. I’ve heard a lot of good things about that cookbook. Looks like I’ll have to add it to my wish list!

  9. Great. You got me drooling over the keyboard.
    Those brownies look AMAZING!

  10. Mmmm these look good! I’m dying to get this cookbook. I tried another cream cheese brownie recipe before where it was swirled too and I wasn’t completely satisfied with it so I can’t wait to try these.

  11. those look so decadent!

  12. Ok, so I made these brownies, and was so excited for how they would turn out! I have made regular black bottom cupcakes and was happy to have them in brownie form. I baked them for 1 hr 14 m, and the brownie base is dry and kind of blah…. I am so bummed! 😦 The picture looks so moist! Maybe not bake them for so long???

  13. I’m not sure what happened- you might have baked them too long. Sorry they didn’t turn out as well as you hoped!

  14. […] Black Bottom Brownies adapted from Dinner and Dessert’s Blog […]

  15. Hi Erin! I tried the recipe and it was so yummy! Your pictures are so much better than mine! I’ll have to make them again, for some reason, the brownie base was thicker than what you had in your picture and for some reason, only the middle was really fudgey…i wonder if just baked it too long. But it was still good!

  16. This cake looks very good, and I cant wait to
    make it because I love everything brownie.

  17. […] adapted this recipe from here, and used a lot more egg yolks so that the batter will be a bit drier and more like a cookie so […]

  18. […] (though I don’t drink coffee), so I knew I would love these.  I made some really good cheesecake brownies last year, and wanted to see how these would compare.  The last brownies were a brownie base with […]

Leave a Reply

