• Categories

  • Archives

  • Meta

Tuesdays with Dorie: Blueberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream

This week’s Tuesdays with Dorie recipe was chosen by Delores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity. She chose Dorie’s Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream. Even though we have been making tons of fruit desserts lately, this was still a great pick because TWD has not made ice cream yet. I was excited about the chance to use my ice cream maker. I used some fresh blueberries that I had in my freezer from when we went blueberry picking at the end of June. This was a pretty easy dessert to put together. The only hard part was waiting on it to get frozen so I could try it! I liked this ice cream well enough, but I found the sour cream flavor to be too strong. I will definitely try another blueberry ice cream recipe though, because the blueberry taste in this was amazing. Next time I would either use less sour cream or find another alternative. But, I am glad I made it and we definitely did enjoy it. Thanks Delores for choosing it and please visit our Tuesdays with Dorie blog to see everyone else’s ice cream!

15 Responses

  1. Yummy! Looks great. Sorry it wasn’t on the top of your list, but wasn’t making the ice cream fun! You are lucky to be able to pick your own blueberries! I’m jealous.

  2. Yours looks delicious. I also hated waiting for it to freeze… I’m not very patient!

  3. I have yet to make a blueberry ice cream… but I will definitely plan on making it with sour cream to try out!

  4. belated congrats on 100 posts…love the blueberry shots, this ice cream was simply the prettiest color ever. wonderful!

  5. I am not a patient person either! It took all my willpower not to eat it before it had ample freezing time. haha. Your ice cream looks yummy. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  6. Honestly, I thought it was too sour too, but pair it with some sweet cookies and it just shines. Seriously.

  7. Your ice cream has beautiful color!

  8. i guess i’m in the minority of people who didn’t think the sour cream was overpowering!
    it was definitely hard to wait for it to freeze! looks great though

  9. The color is really nice. I’m sorry you thought it was a little overwhelmed by the sour cream, though.

  10. Blueberry picking? Sounds fun!

  11. Yours turned out gorgeous, and I’m glad you had fun with it.

  12. This looks lovely. I didn’t make the icecream this week but am really tempted to get an icecream maker.

  13. I thought it was a little sour creamy too but it was fun to make and yours looks lovely!🙂

  14. Your ice cream looks absolutely heavenly! I wish I had an ice cream maker now!

  15. It looks great. I used some yogurt in place of some of the sour cream, it had more of a creamy taste vs the sour cream tart taste.

Leave a Reply

